Skip to content

How to unsubscribe from Facebook (guide)

Rate this post

How to unsubscribe from Facebook (guide): After having experimented with how it works for some time and after thinking about it for several days, you have decided: the world of social networks is not for you and you therefore want to delete your account Facebook. However, if you are here now and are reading these lines, it seems clear to me that you do not have very clear ideas on what to do and therefore you would like to receive some useful “tips” to understand how to proceed. I am wrong? No, indeed. So, given the situation, I can not help but advise you to focus on reading my tutorial on how to unsubscribe from Facebook.

In the following lines I will in fact indicate, step by step, everything that needs to be done in order to delete your profile from Mark Zuckerberg’s social network, both temporarily (in case of second thoughts you can always and in any case retrace your steps) and in manner and definitive (the deletion of the profile will be irrecoverable after 30 days from its implementation). Choosing which of the two methods to put into practice to unsubscribe from Facebook is up to you, however. For my part, I can only advise you to think slowly about what to do, especially taking into account the consequences of the definitive cancellation.

Having made this necessary clarification, if you are therefore really interested in finding out how to proceed to unsubscribe from Facebook, I invite you to take a few minutes of free time, get comfortable and concentrate on reading the information you find right below. Oh, I forgot … do not be alarmed about the alleged difficulty of the procedure! In fact, I can assure you that beyond the “high-sounding” terms it is in fact a fairly simple operation to carry out even for the less tight in terms of the Internet and new technologies.

What to do before unsubscribing from Facebook

Before explaining how to proceed, however, it is my duty to indicate you what to do before unsubscribing from Facebook. Below I show you how to implement a simple procedure that I think you should do: backup your data. You ask me why? Well, simple: because this way you avoid losing valuable data during the profile deletion process.

To download a backup copy of your data from Facebook, open the web browser you usually use to surf the net and connect to Facebook by typing www.facebook.com in the address bar and then pressing the button Enter on the keyboard to connect to the main page of the social network. Then fill in the appropriate forms located at the top right by typing theemail address or the telephone number with which you have chosen to register on the social network and the relative password, then presses the button Log in.

Now, click the button (▾) which is located at the top right and then presses on the items Settings and privacy> Settings attached to the menu that is shown to you. Then click on the item first Your information on Facebook contained in the left sidebar and then on the item Download yours information.

In the new open page, put the check mark next to the options related to the data you want to download from Facebook (eg. Post, Photo and video, Comments, etc.) and click on the button Create file to start creating the archive containing all your data. If you want, you can use the drop-down menus located at the top to choose thedate range to be included in the backup (if you do not want to download all your data, but only those referring to a certain period of time), the file format in which to download the backup (HTML or JSON) and the quality of multimedia content included in it.

If you prefer to act from smartphone or tablet, launch the Facebook on your device Android/iOS / iPadOS, go to the menu (≡)> Settings and privacy> Settings> Download your information. For the rest, the directions to follow are the same as those I just gave you for the desktop version of Facebook.

When the archive containing the backup of your data is ready, the link to download it directly by e-mail to the address you used to log in to Facebook. Note that depending on the amount of data to be backed up, this could take more than a day. In case, try to be patient.

What to do to unsubscribe from Facebook temporarily

Deactivate Facebook account

Unsubscribe from Facebook temporarily it’s that simple. Just go to the account settings, in the section dedicated to the procedure for deactivating and deleting the profile, and act directly from there.

After logging into your account, click on the icon (▾) located at the top right and select the items Settings and privacy> Settings in the opened menu and then click on the wording Your information on Facebook present in the menu on the left.

Next, click on the item Deactivation and elimination located on the right, select the option Deactivate account, click the button Continue to deactivate the account located at the bottom right, provide the password of your account in the appropriate text field and then click on the button Keep it going.

Therefore, specify the reason why you intend to deactivate your Facebook account (eg. This is a temporary measure. I’ll be back. Automatically reactivate my account in [N giorni]), click the button Deactivate and confirm the operation by pressing the button Deactivate now, in the box that opened on the screen.

If you want to prefer to act mobile, after logging in to Facebook from its app for Android/iOS / iPadOS, go up (≡) > Settings and Privacy> Settings> Account Control and Properties> Deactivation and Deletion, select the item Deactivate account, presses the button Continue to deactivate the account and specify the reason why you want to deactivate the profile (eg. This is a temporary measure. I’ll be back).

Finally, click on the button Keep it going, scroll the displayed screen, press the button again Keep it going and then presses the button Deactivate my account. Simple, right? I remind you that you can reactivate your account whenever you want: just log in to it again.

What to do to unsubscribe from Facebook permanently

Delete Facebook account

If you are interested in understanding how to do it delete the Facebook account permanently, the first thing you need to do is to connect to the main page of the social network and log in to your account. Then click on the button (▾) which is located in the upper right part and then click on the item first Settings and privacy from the menu that appears and then select the wording Settings.

In the new page that is now shown to you, click on the item Your information on Facebook, present in the left sidebar and then click on the wording Deactivation and elimination (on the right).

Now, on the page that has opened, check the option Delete account and then click the button Continue to delete the account from Facebook. Then click on the button Delete the account, write the password you use to access your Facebook profile in the appropriate text field, click on the button Keep it going and then press the button Delete the account to complete the procedure.

If you prefer to act from smartphone and tablet, after opening the Facebook app on your device Android/iOS / iPadOS and logged in to the account to be deleted, go to (≡)> Settings and Privacy> Settings> Account Control and Properties> Deactivation and Deletion, select the option Delete account, presses the button Continue to delete the account and then tap the button Continue to delete the account.

Scroll, therefore, the screen opened, press the button Delete the account, provide the password of your account in the appropriate text field, click on the button Keep it going and then tap the button Delete the account.

I remind you that the cancellation will take place later 30 days from the implementation of the aforementioned procedure. During this time it is possible to cancel the account cancellation request by logging back into the Facebook account.