Skip to content

How to restrict a person on Facebook

Rate this post

How to restrict a person on Facebook: Do you need to post a photo or message on Facebook and do you want one of your friends not to have access to this content? Is there a co-worker a little too petulant who contacts you as soon as you connect to Facebook and would like to find a way to avoid it without making a bad impression? Nothing easier, believe me.

Facebook includes numerous features that allow you to customize the privacy of posts and avoid the “annoyances” in chat without them noticing. If you have just joined the social network founded by Mark Zuckerberg and you don’t know what I’m talking about, take five minutes of free time and find out how to restrict a person on Facebook thanks to the information I’m about to give you: find all the information you need right below.

The tutorial covers both the web version of Facebook, the one that you use from your PC, and the social network application for smartphones. So don’t worry, whatever device you use the social network on, below you will find the instructions for you. I wish you a good reading and a lot of fun!

Limit the visibility of a post

If you want to know how to restrict a person on Facebook so as not to show her certain messages, photos or videos that you publish in your diary, all you have to do is make adequate use of the drop-down menu with the privacy settings that is in the box for composing new posts.

Before clicking on the fateful button Publish, then select the items Other options> Personalized from the drop-down menu located next to it and type the name of the person to hide the post from in the field Don’t share with. Finally click on Save Changes to save the settings and that’s it.

On a smartphone, you can perform the same operation by “tapping” on the box What are you thinking about? (the one where you type new posts), expanding the drop down menu which is at the top left (the one where it says Friends or All) and selecting items More> Friends except from the screen that appears.

Next, type the name of the friend you want to make the post invisible to in the field Except, presses on arrow at the top left to save the changes and proceed as normal with the publication of your message (or your multimedia contents).

How to restrict a person on Facebook

If you want to limit the viewing of a message you have already published or a photo that you have already uploaded to your profile, you have to repeat the same operation by calling up the menu Personalized from the icon with thelittle man or the globe which is at the top of the post pane.

From a smartphone, you can perform the same operation by “tapping” on the arrow located at the top right of the post to be hidden and selecting the item Edit privacy from the menu that appears.

Be offline in chat

Do you want restrict a person on Facebook so that this does not “see” you when you are connected to the chat of the social network? Also in this case, a few clicks are enough to solve the problem. You simply have to click on thegear located at the bottom right of the chat bar and select the item Advanced settings from the menu that appears.

In the box that opens, put the check mark next to the item Deactivate chat only for some friends … and type the name of the person to whom you want to always be offline in the text field below. Finally click on the button Save to save the settings and the mission can be said to be accomplished.

How to restrict a person on Facebook

If you prefer, you can also block a person in Facebook chat permanently (without having to specify their name in the field Disable chat for some friends only). To do this, click on thegear located at the bottom right and select the item Lock settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, type the name of the person you want to block in chat in the field Block messages, click on the button Block messages to confirm the operation and that’s it. The setting will also affect Messenger (the Facebook chat for smartphones and tablets) and will be visible to the blocked user, who will notice that it is impossible to send you messages via chat. If you change your mind, go back to the menu Lock settings and click on the button Unlock placed next to the name to be unlocked.

How to restrict a person on Facebook

To lock a person up Messenger directly from the smartphone (without blocking it even on the Facebook diary), open the application, select a conversation made with the contact to be blocked and press the icon (the) located at the top right.

Next, go on Block, “tap” on the item Turn off all messages and the selected user will be blocked in the Facebook chat (then on Messenger). In case of second thoughts, to re-activate communications in Messenger with the blocked user, you have to go back to the same menu and press on the item Turn on messages.

How to restrict a person on Facebook

If you want to appear offline for all people on Facebook Messenger, follow the directions in my tutorial on how to close Facebook Messenger.

Hide someone’s posts in the news feed

You can also block a friend on Facebook so that they no longer view their posts in the Facebook news feed (i.e. on the main page of the social network). To do this, locate any post of the person you intend to “obscure” in the Facebook news feed, click on the arrow placed on the latter (top right) and click on the item Don’t follow anymore [nome] present in the menu that appears.

In this way you will no longer see the posts of the person in question but will continue to be his friend on Facebook and receive his messages in chat. The procedure is the same also on smartphones and tablets.

How to restrict a person on Facebook

If you do not want to “obscure” all the messages of a person but only certain contents (eg game or app notifications), find a post of the type you no longer want to see, click on the arrow located at the top right of the latter and select the item Hide post from the menu that opens.

In case of second thoughts, to make previously blocked posts visible again, connected to the main Facebook page, click on the button (…) which is next to the item News in the left sidebar and expand the field Reconnect with people you no longer follow. From a smartphone, on the other hand, presses the button of the Facebook app, select the item News section preferences from the screen that opens and go up Reconnect with people you no longer follow.

Note: if you do not want to disable the posts of a person, but only the notifications coming from the latter (for example those relating to games), follow the instructions in my tutorial on how to block Facebook game requests.

Avoid posting other people’s content in your diary

Do you have friends who have a bad habit of posting content in your diary? Do you want to prevent the photos and posts you are tagged in from being automatically posted to your diary? Nothing simpler. Connect to the main Facebook page, click on arrow located at the top right (in the blue bar) and select the item Settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, select the item Journal and tagging from the left sidebar and change the settings I’m about to suggest (to change them, click on the item Edit placed next to the latter).

  • Who can add things to my diary? Only me.
  • Want to check the tags people add to your posts before they are visible on Facebook? Yup.

How to restrict a person on Facebook

Done! Now no one but you will be able to post content to your diary, and the posts you are tagged in will not automatically appear on your page.

To adopt the same privacy measures from a smartphone, press the button of the Facebook app and select the items Quick Links to Privacy> More Settings> Diary and Tagging from the screen that opens.

Block a person

To conclude, I remind you that in the most extreme cases, that is when a person disturbs you in a serious and continuous way, you can permanently block them from your diary and from Messenger using the function Block of Facebook (which also removes friendship).

To block a person on Facebook, all you have to do is connect to his page, press the button (…) located at the top right and select the item Block from the menu that appears. For more info on this, see my tutorial on how to block a friend on Facebook.