Skip to content

How to remove yourself from Facebook

Rate this post

How to remove yourself from Facebook: You no longer have much time to dedicate to your Facebook profile and would like to deactivate it so as not to risk someone contacting you without receiving a reply? Have you decided that Facebook is not for you, so you would like to permanently delete your account but you don’t know what is the correct procedure to follow? You have found the guide for you.

Take a look at the procedures outlined below and you’ll find out in no time how to unsubscribe from Facebook definitively or only temporarily, to then return to the social network as if nothing had ever happened.

Both operations can be performed both from desktop (therefore from PC) and from portable devices, such as smartphones and tablets. You choose which procedure is most comfortable for you to follow.

Before we find out together how to unsubscribe from Facebook definitively, I want to show you all the steps necessary to deactivate an account temporarily. In this way, you will be able to make your profile “disappear” while having the possibility to re-enter it at any time without losing contacts, photos, status updates, etc.

To deactivate your account from your computer, connected to Facebook, click on arrow located at the top right (inside the blue bar located at the top of the screen) and select the item Settings from the menu that appears. On the page that opens, click on the item Protection and select the option Deactivate your account.

At this point, put the check mark next to one of the items displayed in the center of the page (eg. This is a temporary measure. I’ll be back) to “justify” the deactivation of your account, then click on the button Confirmation and enter your password to complete the operation.

If you use Facebook from a smartphone (or tablet), you can get the same result by pressing the button Menu located at the bottom right (the icon with the three horizontal lines) and selecting the item Settings from the screen that appears. Next, press on the option Deactivate, type your account password and press the button Keep it going to complete the procedure.

To reactivate your profile, from your computer or mobile phone, all you have to do is go back to Facebook, log in to the social network and confirm the account restoration. Very easy!

Although there is the possibility to deactivate it only temporarily, do you want to completely remove your profile from Facebook? Nothing easier. If you are in front of the PC, connected to the main page of the social network, click on arrow located at the top right and select the item Service center from the menu that opens.

At this point, type in the term “Account” in the text field that appears on the screen, select the question How do I delete my account permanently? and click on the link Tell us.

On the page that opens, click on the button Delete my account, type in your password, copy the security code that is shown to you and click on OK to complete the operation. Your account will be instantly deactivated and set up for permanent deletion. However, you will have a period of 14 days within which you can log into your profile and reactivate it.

Remove yourself from Facebook from mobile is just as simple. Start the social network app, press the button Menu located at the bottom right and select the item Service center from the screen that opens. Next, press the button with the icon magnifying glass, type the term “Account” in the search bar and select the question How do I delete my account permanently?. Then click on the link tell us and complete the procedure by typing the password of your account.

Unsubscribe from Facebook

If before deleting your profile from Facebook you want to save the data present in it, such as photos, conversations, posts and so on, connected to the home page of the social network, click on the arrow located at the top right and select the item Settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, click on the link Download a copy of your Facebook data and then on the button Start my archive. When the files are ready, you will receive an email from Facebook with the link to download the zip archive containing all the data of your social profile.