Skip to content

How to remove the displayed on Instagram

Rate this post

How to remove the displayed on Instagram: You receive many messages every day about Instagram and, since you are a very privacy-conscious person, you are looking for a solution that allows you not to let some users know that you have read their messages. How do you say? Is this really the case? Then know that you have come to the right place at the right time.

If you wonder how to remove the displayed on Instagram, you will be happy to know that I have some solutions in mind that might be right for you. In the next chapters of this tutorial, in fact, I will explain to you in detail how to succeed in this aim, through the use of some predefined tools of the well-known photographic social network.

That said, if you are eager to learn more and can’t wait to get started, I invite you to sit down comfortably and just take a few minutes of free time all to yourself. I’m about to explain how to reach your goal by acting from the Instagram app for Android and iOS, but also from a PC, through the official website of the social network and its application for Windows 10. At this point, all I have to do is wish you a good read!

Preliminary information

Before explaining to you how to remove the displayed on Instagram, I have to give you some preliminary information about it. In fact, you must know that, at the time of writing this guide, the only official solution to be able to succeed is that of limit an accountacting through the settings of the social network.

However, you must take into account that the operation in question involves various limitations in the interactions that the user involved can perform. The latter, in fact, will be added to the list of restricted accounts and, consequently, its private messages, as well as the comments published under your posts, will be automatically filtered and must be approved before being made public.

Then, which interests you most at this juncture, the user added to the restriction list will automatically hide yours Status of activity and, therefore, in addition to not being able to see when you are online on Instagram, he will not be able to know when you have read his messages. In any case, he will not receive any notice regarding his status.

That said, if you want to be able to hide the reading status of messages on Instagram, you just have to continue reading the next paragraphs of my guide, in which I will also suggest some alternative solutions that you can implement to achieve your goal. .

How to remove displayed on Instagram Direct

As already mentioned, to make sure that the people you chat with on Instagram do not know when you have read their messages, there are several procedures that you can implement: the most effective is limiting an account, but there are some. others too. Follow, therefore, the indications that I am about to give you below, to succeed in the intent you have set for yourself.

Restrict an account

Restrict IG accounts

For limit an account on Instagram you can take action via the Instagram app for Android or iOS or from a computer, via the official website Instagram or using his application for Windows 10.

Having said that, to get started, start the app of the well-known photographic social network or connect to its official website, in order to log in to your account.

Now, press onmagnifying glass icon located at the bottom of the app Instagram and type, in the search engine, the first name of the user you want to restrict. If, on the other hand, you are acting from the Web or through the Instagram application for Windows 10, refer to the search engine located at the top, to identify the profile of the user to be limited.

Once this is done, click on the icon (…) and, in the menu that is shown to you, click on the item Limit your accountin order to confirm this operation.

The names of the restricted accounts are visible in the section Settings> Privacy > Restricted account. At any time, acting through this section, you can remove the restrictions previously implemented by pressing the button Remove restrictions.

Read messages from notifications

Instagram notifications

Another solution that you can put in place, to avoid letting the people you chat with on Instagram know that you have read their messages, is to activate notifications for direct messages, acting through the social network app to Android or iOS.

In this way, when you receive a new private message, you can read it from the notifications of your smartphone, which will be shown on the screen without entering the app and, consequently, without the writing Displayedconfirming that the message has been read.

That said, to proceed, start the Instagram on your device and log into your account. Then, press the ☰ button located in the upper right corner of your profile screen and, in the menu that is shown to you, tap on the items Settings> Notifications.

Now, click on the wording Direct messages and make sure it’s set to Activate the option located next to the item Messages. Easy, right?

Turn off the activity state

IG activity status

An alternative solution to the ones I told you about in the previous chapters concerns the deactivation of the Status of activity, an Instagram feature that allows you to know, in a reciprocal manner, the last access made on the social network for the people to whom you send private messages. This option, however, does not allow you to avoid knowing that a private message has been viewed.

That said, to do this, log into your account Instagram via the social network app for Android or iOS or through his official website or theapplication for Windows 10.

Once this is done, from your smartphone, press the ☰ button located in the upper right corner of your profile screen and, in the menu that is shown to you, tap on the items Settings> Privacy> Activity status. Finally, move up OFF the lever corresponding to the wording Shows the status of activity.

If you prefer to act via the official Instagram website or if you are using the application for Windows 10, press on thegear icon located next to your profile and, in the menu that is shown to you, click on the item Privacy and security. Finally, remove the check mark next to the item Shows the status of activity.

How to remove the displayed in Instagram stories

Stories Down

Would you view Instagram Stories anonymously? In that case, you need to know that there is no official solution to succeed in this intent. However, you can view Instagram Stories without the owner knowing, by making use of third-party websites or applications, such as the website StoriesDown.

In this regard, to learn more about the subject, I suggest you read my tutorial on how to see Instagram stories without being seen in which I explained in detail how to proceed in this specific case.