Skip to content

How to remove restriction code

Rate this post

You have set the restriction code on your iPhone, to restrict access to certain apps, such as those related to social networks and games. Now, however, you have changed your mind, you would like to deactivate the code in question, but you just can’t. Don’t worry, if you want, I’ll be here to help you.

In fact, in today’s guide I’ll explain how to remove the restriction code on iPhone and iPad and, if you have an Android device, I will explain how to disable the “Restricted Mode” offered by Google for its services (YouTube, the search engine, etc.). For the real parental control apps, however, I invite you to refer to my specific tutorials: today I will only deal with the native functions of iOS and Android.

If everything is clear to you so far and you are ready to remove the restriction code from the devices on which you have set it, let’s not waste any more precious time chatting and let’s get to work. Strength and courage: make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, implement the “tips” that I will give you. There is nothing left for me to do but wish you good reading and wish you a big good luck for everything!

How to remove iPhone restriction code

If you wish to remove the restriction code on iPhone, know that, to do this, you simply need to go to the iOS settings, enter the code you set to protect apps and web browsing on the device and disable the restrictions option.

To proceed, therefore, if you use iOS 12 or later, launch the app Settings (the gray icon with gears located on the home screen of your “iPhone by”), scroll the displayed screen a little and select the item Usage time from the latter.

On the next page, tap on the item Disable the “Screen Time” option which is located at the bottom of the screen, enter the code provided for the “Usage time” option through the appropriate numeric keypad appeared at the bottom of the screen and confirm your intentions by pressing the button Disable the “Screen Time” option which appears below.

Once this is done, no more reports on usage time or limits will be sent. In addition, pause settings and content and privacy restrictions will also be disabled.

Instead of disabling the Screen Time feature altogether, do you just want to disable some specific restrictions that you had previously set? To do this, after going to the menu Settings> Screen time, tap on the type of restriction you want to disable or modify (eg. Pause for use, App limitations, Content and privacy, etc.) and enter the code provided for the “Usage time” option through the appropriate numeric keypad appeared at the bottom of the screen.

In the screen that opens, then, move up OFF the lever of the switch located in correspondence with the function you want to deactivate (eg. Content and privacy) And that’s it. By doing so, the restrictions you previously set on the iPhone will continue to remain active, except for the feature you have decided to disable.

If, on the other hand, you use iOS 11 or earlier, go to the menu Settings> General> Restrictions iPhone, tap on the item Disable restrictions, type yours PIN And that’s it.

Were you unable to perform the operations I described in the previous lines, as you do not remember the restriction code that you had previously set on the iPhone? In that case, to fix the problem and disable the code in question, you need to resort to much more drastic measures. In this case, you must restore the device via iTunes.

To do this, just launch iTunes, click the button Restore iPhone located in the upper right corner of the iTunes window, accept the terms of use of iOS by clicking on the button first Reset / Restore and Update and then on Following And I accept. Then wait for the restore operation to be completed and, once this happens, decide whether to configure the device as new or whether to restore a previous backup.

How to restore iPhone

Given the relative complexity of the procedure in question, I invite you to carefully read the guides on how to connect iPhone to PC and how to restore iPhone, where I have explained to you in detail how to proceed.

How to remove iPad restriction code

IPad Restrictions

Wishes remove the restriction code set on iPad? In this case, know that it is possible to do this by acting in a similar way to what was seen in the previous chapter, dedicated to iPhone. Even in this case, in fact, just go to the iOS settings and remove the function inherent to the restrictions set on the device.

To permanently remove the restrictions on iOS 12 or later, then go to the menu Settings> Screen time, tap on the item Disable the “Screen Time” option at the bottom right, enter the code provided for the “Usage Time” option and press the button again Disable the “Screen Time” option which is present in the box that appeared in the center of the screen.

To remove only some restrictions, instead, go to Settings> Screen time, tap on the type of restriction you want to disable (eg. Content and privacy), enter the code provided for the “Usage time” option through the appropriate numeric keypad and finally move up OFF the lever of the switch located in correspondence with the function you have decided to deactivate (eg. Content and privacy). Easier than that?

On iOS 11 and earlier, to get the same result, you have to act in the menu Settings> General> Restrictions iPad and tap the entry for disable restrictions.

If you do not remember the code you set on your iPad, you must necessarily connect it to your computer and restore it via iTunes, following the instructions I have provided you with in detail in the guides that I have just linked to you.

How to remove Android restriction code

Android restrictions mode

On Android, unlike what we saw on iOS, there is no real way to limit the time of use of your device and / or block access to certain apps or websites (to do this, you must necessarily resort to third-party solutions, as I explained to you in this other guide).

However, if you have activated the Google Restricted Mode on your Android device, as regards some specific services offered by “Big G”, such as YouTube, and now you would like to know how to disable it, know that it is possible to do it in a few taps.

To proceed, start the app on which you have activated Restricted Mode (eg. YouTube), log in to your Google account (if necessary), tap the button depicting i three vertical dots or on thumbnail of your profile photo (usually top right) and select the item Settings in the menu that opens. In the screen that opens, tap on the item General, scroll to the bottom of the displayed screen and then move up OFF the switch lever located in correspondence with the item Restricted mode.

If, on the other hand, you want to disable Restricted Mode by acting from the browser you use on your mobile device, you must act in a similar way to what I explained to you a moment ago. After starting the web browser, log in to your Google account (if you have not already done so), tap the button depicting the three vertical dots or on thumbnail of your profile photo (top right), select the item Settings in the menu that opens and, finally, move up OFF the switch lever placed in correspondence with the wording Restricted mode.