Skip to content

How to remove friends from Facebook

Rate this post

How to remove friends from Facebook: Taken by the euphoria of a new Facebook member, you have begun to request and accept friendships left and right and now you find yourself with dozens of semi-unknown contacts who can see all the information on your account and “haunt” the social wall network with messages that you practically don’t care about. As usual, you have been too reckless in your choices, but rest assured because the solution to the problem is just a click away (or even a tap).

Even if you are still a beginner with the world of social networks, I can assure you that removing unwanted contacts from your profile is a real breeze and, with a little patience, you too can do it in a few minutes.

Come on, don’t waste any more time and immediately put into practice the steps on how to remove friends from Facebook that I’m about to show you. I am sure that in the end you will be able to tell yourself more than satisfied and that you will slap yourself on the forehead asking yourself “but how did I not think about it before?”. What do you say, we bet?

Note: By removing people from the list of your friends you will no longer be able to view the news of the latter on the Facebook wall but, if you deem it appropriate, you can always contact them privately by sending them messages. Also know that removing friends from Facebook is an operation that is carried out without giving any notification to the other party. So, as long as the person concerned does not personally notice it, they will never see your choice.

Remove Facebook friends from your computer

If you want to learn how to remove friends from Facebook and if you usually use the famous social network from your computer, you must first connect to the main page of the same and log in to your profile.

To do this, open the web browser you generally use to browse the net, type www.facebook.com in the address bar, press the button Enter on the keyboard to connect to the main page of the social network and fill in the appropriate forms located at the top right by typing the email address or telephone number with which you have chosen to register on the social network and the relative password. Then click on the button Log in.

At this point, start typing the name of the person you want to delete from your contacts in the search bar located at the top center and click on the link that appears as you type to access their profile.

In the page that opens, that is the profile page of the selected person, position the mouse cursor on the button Friends and select the item remove from your friends from the menu that appears to confirm the operation and the selected person will be removed from the list of your contacts on Facebook.

In case of second thoughts or mistakes, you can still ask friends again from people previously deleted from your contact list. To do this, go to the profile of the person you want to add back to your friends on Facebook and press the button add to friends present on the cover image. If you need more details about it, you can consult my tutorial on how to re-add a deleted friend on Facebook.

In this case, however, keep in mind the fact that if removing friends from Facebook is an operation that can be carried out without having to wait for a response from the other party and without the latter being notified of the thing, send a new friend request in case of second thoughts is instead a procedure that inevitably implies not only the display of a special notification on the other person’s profile (consequently he will also learn that you had previously removed him from your friends list) but also needs approval by the latter.

Remember that in addition to permanently deleting a contact, you can also block a friend on Facebook by going to his profile, by clicking on the button with the three dots placed on the right on the cover image and choosing the item Block from the menu that is shown to you.

You will then be able to access the section of the social network to manage all blocked friends by clicking on the button depicting a arrow located in the upper right part of the blue bar of the social network, by clicking on Settings and choosing the item Block from the left sidebar attached to the new web page displayed. For more details, check out my guide on how to block a friend on Facebook.

Remove friends from Facebook from smartphones and tablets

How to remove friends from Facebook

If, on the other hand, you use Facebook mostly from smartphones and tablets, the procedure you must follow in order to remove friends from Facebook is slightly different from that seen in the previous lines but still just as simple.

First of all, open the social network app by pressing on its icon attached to the home screen of your device, then press on the search bar located at the top, type the name of the person to be deleted and select the right name from the search results.

Once the screen relating to the profile of the previously selected person is displayed, tap the button Friends then choose the item remove from your friends from the menu that appears to terminate the friendship with the person in question.

If you have to think again, you can always and in any case restore your friendship with users previously removed from contacts. All you have to do is go back to the profile page of the person you want to add back to friends, click on the button add to friends and wait for the user to respond to the request. For more information, take a look at my guide on the topic that I invited you to consult in the previous lines, when I explained how to remove friends from Facebook by acting on the computer.

Clearly, also in this case the same rules already provided for the desktop version of Facebook apply. So, unlike the removal of friends from your contacts, sending a friend request is a procedure that inevitably involves the appearance of a special notification on the other person’s profile and that requires the approval of the other party.

As on the desktop, even when using the social network from smartphones and tablets, instead of removing friends from Facebook you can block specific people by going to their profile, pressing the button with the three dots present at the top right and tapping the red button Block attached to the menu that is shown to you on the screen.

You can then manage the friends you have chosen to block from your smartphone or tablet by pressing the button with the three lines attached to the Facebook app screen, by pressing on the item Settingsby selecting the item Account settings from the displayed menu and tapping on Block. For more details, check out my tutorial on the topic I suggested in the previous lines.

Alternatives to removing friends from Facebook

From computer

How to remove friends from Facebook

You don’t want to remove friends from Facebook but you no longer have any intention of viewing the contents shared by some specific people on the social network home? If so, you can easily deal with this by stopping seeing someone’s posts in the News Feed without deleting them from your friends list.

How? Just connect to the personal profile page of the person you intend to act on, click on the button Follow already or Show first (the item may vary depending on your settings) and select the item Unfollow Username (instead of Username you will find the name and surname of the person you want to unfollow) from the menu that is shown to you. It’s easier to do than to explain, trust me.

Alternatively, you can hide certain content posted on Facebook by one or more of your friends by pressing the arrow which appears at the top right of the posts of the users in question when you move over it with the mouse and select the item Hide from the menu that opens.

From smartphones and tablets

How to delete friends from Facebook

Alternative procedures to removing friends from Facebook can also be put into practice from mobile. In this regard, if you want to avoid viewing the contents shared on the social network by one or more people, all you have to do is go to their profile, press on the item Friends placed on the left under the cover image and choose the item Don’t follow anymore from the menu that is shown on the screen.

If, on the other hand, you want to hide specific content that a friend publishes online, just locate the reference post, press on arrow that appears at the top right of his posts when you hover over it with the mouse and select the item Hide post from the menu that opens.