Skip to content

How to put your private profile on Facebook

Rate this post

How to put your private profile on Facebook: Facebook it is your favorite social network and, although you make daily use of it, you feel you cannot keep up with all its features, due to the frequent updates to which it is subjected. In this regard, you would like to be able to better customize some settings related to the privacy of your profile but, given the new layout of the social network menus, you do not know how to do it.

How do you say? That’s the way it is and you ask yourself how to put your private profile on Facebook? Don’t worry: in this guide I will show you in detail how to proceed, explaining how to privatize your profile, all the information contained in it and all the content you publish. You can act directly from the app Facebook for smartphones and tablets or from computers, using the official website of the well-known social network: the choice is yours.

Having said that, if you can’t wait to find out more now, sit down comfortably and just take a few minutes of free time to read this tutorial of mine and implement the instructions I am about to give you. At this point, there is nothing left for me to do but wish you a good read and good luck for everything!

How to make your profile private on Facebook

If you wonder how to make your profile private on Facebook, as you would like to hide or limit the display of some content, all you have to do is continue reading this tutorial of mine: I’m about to explain how to act both from smartphone and tablet, through the app Facebook for Android And iOS/iPadOS, which from a computer, by connecting to the official site of the well-known social network. Find all the details in the following lines.

From smartphones and tablets

Restrict facebook posts

If you want make the Facebook profile private to non-friends and you use the famous social network mainly from smartphones and tablets, you must first start the Facebook app on your device and log in to your account.

Once this is done, on the main screen of Facebook, press the ☰ icon and, in the menu that is shown to you, select the items Privacy Setup> Settings. Now, tap on the item Privacy Settings, in order to go to the personalization screen.

At this point, press on the item Who can see your future posts, in order to select the option Only me, Friends or Specific friends and thus limit the display of the posts you publish in the News section to yourself, your friends or some of them (if you do not see any options, click on the item Other).

Also, to limit the visibility of past posts to friends only (so not just yourself), you can tap on the item Limit who can see old posts and confirm the operation by pressing on the item Limit past posts twice in a row.

Also press on the item Who can see people the pages and lists you follow, in order to select the option Only me, so that no one else can know this information.

If you wish to implement other restrictions and privatizations of your profile, click on the item Who can send you friend requests and check the wording Friends of friends (beyond this you cannot go as privacy).

Other options you can customize are the ability to search for your profile using your email address (who can search for you using the email address you provided?) or phone number (who can look for you using the phone number you provided?): for these items select the option Only me, so that it is impossible for outsiders to search for your profile.

Also, if you don’t want the Facebook external search engines direct you to your profile, tap on the appropriate menu item that is shown to you and move to OFF the relative lever. If, in addition, you want to change the privacy of your profile information, click on the item Manage your profile that you can see in correspondence of the section Privacy Settings.

At this point, in correspondence with the cards relating to the information you entered, such as the work, L’instruction ei places where you have lived and contact information, click onpencil icon in order to change the privacy in Only me (or on another level of privacy you prefer), for the individual information entered. Finally, confirm the operation by pressing the button Save.

To apply further restrictions to your Facebook profile, go to the section Privacy Setup> Settings then refer also to the other menu items named, for example, Journal and tagging, Public posts And Status of activity, as in these additional sections you can find additional options to customize to make your profile more private.

To go into more detail, in the section Journal and tagging you can decide who can write in your diary, who can see what others are posting in your diary and whether or not to allow other people to see your posts in stories. You can also decide who can see the post they tagged you in or whether to carry out a prior check on the tags.

Journal and tagging

As for the section Public posts, refer to the possibility of implementing further restrictions such as the possibility of being followed only by friends. Further restrictions may be implemented on who can see your followers on your diary And who can comment on your posts as well as seeing profile information.

In these cases mentioned, setting the privacy on the voice Only me, on Friends or up Friends of friends, it is possible to adjust in a personalized way everything related to your Facebook profile and the published contents.

Another solution to make your profile private is also to deactivate it activity status, moving up OFF the appropriate lever. This way, friends won’t know when you’re online on Facebook.

From computer

who can see your future posts

To make your Facebook profile private by acting as computer, you must first connect to the official site of the social network through the browser you usually use to browse the Internet and log into your account.

Now, on the main screen of the social network, press the ▼ icon located at the top and, in the menu that is shown to you, click on the items Settings> Privacy.

At this point, refer to the sections named Your activities And How people find and contact you, through which you can adjust the main privacy options. For example, if you want to regulate privacy in relation to who can see your future posts tap on the item Edit at the appropriate wording and set the privacy on Only me, Friends or Specific friends and thus limit the viewing of such contents to yourself, your friends or some of them (if you do not see any option, press on the item Other).

Also, if you want to limit the audience of posts you’ve shared in the past, click on the item limit past posts twice in a row, in order to confirm this operation and make these contents visible only to friends.

In the section How people find and contact you you can choose instead who can send you friend requests, limiting this possibility to friends of friends, instead of a all.

If you wish to privatize yours friends list, tap on the item Edit at the appropriate wording and select the option Only me. Do the same thing with regards to the possibility of search for you using the email address or phone number you provided: setting the privacy option Only me, you will make it harder to find yourself on Facebook.

Also, if you don’t want the search engines outside Facebook direct to your profile, tap on the item Edit at the appropriate wording and remove the check mark to disable this option.

Other restrictions options that you can implement are those concerning the diary and tag settings, visible in correspondence with the section Settings> Calendar and Adding Tags.

Acting from this screen you can, in fact, press the button Edit and select the option Only me next to menu items such as, for example, Who can write in your diary? And Who can see the posts they’ve tagged you in in your diary?: in this way, you can further limit the display of your profile and the contents published on it.

Facebook diary

Even acting as a computer you can adjust the privacy options relating to Public posts: to do this, click on the appropriate menu item located in the section Settings Facebook and you will be able to implement restrictions on, for example, the possibility of being followed only by friends.

In addition, if you wish to limit the comments on public posts, select the privacy option for Friends, as well as is it possible to do regarding who can comment or “like” your profile photos and other information visible to all.

Finally, if you wish to disable it Status of activity acting as a computer, press ongear icon located in correspondence of the Facebook chat, then tap on the item Turn off the activity state and put the check mark next to the wording Turn off activity status for all contacts. At this point, confirm the operation by pressing the button OK, And that’s it. Easy, right?