Skip to content

How to hide Facebook friends

Rate this post

How to hide Facebook friends: By visiting your Facebook profile from a friend’s PC, did you notice that your contact list is visible to anyone? Well, I don’t understand why you are surprised. The Facebook friends list is, by default, public: everyone can see it.

But now don’t despair! If you want, you can easily change the privacy settings on your account and hide your friends list by making it private, or at least hiding it from strangers. The operation takes less than 30 seconds and can be completed from both your computer and smartphone.

Come on, don’t wait any longer! Roll up your sleeves now and find out how to hide Facebook friends following the directions I am about to give you. At the end of the procedure you will get a list of contacts that is 100% private or visible only to your friends. You can also decide who to display the people and pages you follow and whether to keep the list of your followers public. For more details read on, you will find everything explained below.

Hide your Facebook friends list

If you want to put the list of friends away from prying eyes, connected to the Facebook home page, log in to your account and click on your profile picture located at the top right. On the page that opens, select the tab Friends placed under the cover image, click on the icon of the pencil located at the top right and select the item Edit privacy from the menu that appears.

Now you have to select the item you prefer the most from those available in the drop-down menu Who can see your friends list?.

  • Leaving the setting active All you will let everyone see your friends list on Facebook.
  • By choosing the option Friends you will only allow your contacts (i.e. your friends) to view the list;
  • By choosing Only me you will hide the friends list from everyone;
  • By selecting the item Personalized, you can indicate single people or groups to show or hide the list.

How to hide Facebook friends

Once you have set your preferences, click on the button end And that’s it. From the same box you can also choose who to display the people and the pages you follow and the list of people who follow you on Facebook.

Hide the friends list from smartphone or tablet

Hide your Facebook friends list from Android

From smartphone or tablet, the preferences relating to the list of friends can be adjusted both from the Facebook app and from the browser (eg. Chrome or Safari). Let me tell you what to do in both cases.

If you prefer to act fromFacebook app, launch it on your device Android or iOS / iPadOS, log in to your account, press the button (≡) and then go to Settings and Privacy> Settings> Privacy Settings> Who Can See Your Friends List? and select the option you want to set (ex. Only me).

If you want to act from browserinstead, you need to connect to facebook.com and log into your account (if necessary). After that you have to activate the desktop view mode and you have to follow the instructions seen above for the PC to hide your list of friends from prying eyes.

How to hide Facebook friends

If you don’t know how to activate desktop view mode in your browser, go to Chrome just press the button (…) located at the top right and put the check mark next to the item Request desktop site, while in Safari you have to press the icon of sharing (the arrow at the bottom center) and select the item Request desktop site from the menu that appears.

Hide posts from friends on Facebook

Do you want hide Facebook friends to stop viewing their posts on the social network home page? Nothing easier. Find any post from the friend to “silence”, hover over it with the mouse pointer and click on arrow which appears at the top right. So choose if stop following the person in question or if hide post as the one selected.

How to hide Facebook friends

By selecting the first option, all posts published by your friend will no longer appear in the news feed (i.e. on the Facebook home page). By selecting the second option, however, you will no longer see posts similar to the one selected in the news feed (eg links, if it was a link) but you will continue to receive your friend’s other content. In both cases, the friendship between you and the other user will not be canceled.

In case of second thoughts, to return to receive all the posts of the friend that you had decided to hide, visit his profile page and press the button follow that you find at the top right. Alternatively, connected to the Facebook home page, press the button (…) located next to the icon News in the left sidebar and select the item Change preferences from the menu that appears. In the box that opens, click on the item Reconnect with people you no longer follow and select the name of the person whose posts you had decided to hide.

How to hide Facebook friends

Hide friends’ posts from smartphones and tablets

On smartphones and tablets, you can hide your friends’ content by following the same procedure we just saw together for the desktop version of Facebook.

All you have to do is start the social network app, press on arrow placed at the top right on one of the posts of the person to “mute” and choose whether stop following the user or if see no more posts similar to the one selected.

In case of second thoughts, to display again the posts of the people you had decided to “hide”, press the button Facebook and go to Settings> News section preferences (or simply News section preferences if you use an Android terminal). Then presses on the voice Reconnect with people you no longer follow and select the name of the person whose posts you have decided to hide.

How to hide Facebook friends

How to “hide” in Facebook Messenger

You would like to hide your online presence from friends on Messenger? No problem. Read my tutorial on how to log out of Messenger and find out how to temporarily hide from Facebook chat on both smartphone and PC.