Skip to content

How to hibernate Facebook

Rate this post

How to hibernate Facebook: Admittedly, you’ve tried but social networking services aren’t right for you. That’s why you have now decided to delete your Facebook profile and permanently disappear from the famous social network. If that’s what you really want, I can’t help but tell you it’s the best choice. However, allow me to give you a little tip before you can perform this irreversible operation: instead of deleting your profile what would you say hibernate Facebook?

The functionality in question differs from the actual cancellation as it allows you to temporarily suspend the account and restore the profile at any time as if nothing had ever happened, thus allowing the user to continue using the social network as he always did until a shortly before the “hibernation” procedure.

If you are interested in finding out what operations you need to perform to be able to hibernate Facebook, I therefore suggest you set aside for a moment the idea of ​​permanently deleting your profile from the social network and secondly to get comfortable and concentrate on reading the information on the to do that you find below. I am sure that in the end you will be able to say that you are happy and satisfied with it. What do you say, we bet?

What to do before hibernating Facebook

Before telling you which steps to take to be able to hibernate Facebook, I suggest you make a backup of your personal data on the social network, it can be very useful in order to always be able to access information, photos, posts and anything else you have chosen to make available on the social network. To download a backup of your data from Facebook, first connect to the social network. To do this, type www.facebook.com in the address bar and then press the button Enter present on the keyboard so that you can immediately connect to the main web page of the service. Then type in your Facebook login details by filling in the appropriate fields that are shown on the screen and then click on the button with written on Log in.

Now press the icon depicting a arrow pointing down located at the top right of the blue Facebook bar and click on the entry Settings attached to the menu that is shown to you. Then click on the entry first Your information on Facebook located in the left sidebar and then on Download yours information.

At this point, select the data you want to download from your Facebook account (eg. Post, Photo, Video etc.) by placing the check mark next to the items relating to the latter, use the drop-down menus located at the top to choose thedate range to include in the backup, select the format in which to download it (I recommend HTML, as it is easier to consult) and the quality of multimedia content to be included in it. Then press the button Create the file and wait for the archive to be prepared.

From smartphones and tablets, you can achieve the same result by starting the app Facebookby pressing the button and selecting items Settings and privacy> Settings> Download your information from the menu that opens.

Once this is done, wait for the system to prepare the ZIP package containing your photos, your posts, the conversations you have made in chat and all the other information you host on your profile (it could take quite a few minutes, if not hours). When the archive is ready, an email will be sent to you containing the link to download it.

What to do to hibernate Facebook

From computer

At this point, you can finally take the real action and then find out how to hibernate Facebook. To do this, first of all connected to the main page of the social network and if necessary log in again by entering the data referring to your account.

Then press the icon depicting a arrow pointing down which is located in the upper right part of the blue Facebook bar and then click on the entry Settings attached to the menu that is shown to you.

On the new page that is shown to you, click on the entry Edit located next to the option Manage accounts. Then click on the item Deactivate your account in order to confirm your desire to hibernate Facebook, if requested, re-type the password relating to your account on the social network and then fill out the form that is proposed to you, taking care to indicate the reasons for which you wish to do this. To finish, click on the button Deactivate.

From now on, your profile will therefore be disabled and your name and image will be removed from most of the elements you shared on Facebook. However, some information, such as your name on friends lists or messages you have sent, may still be visible to other people.

From smartphones and tablets

Hibernating Facebook is an operation that can be performed without problems even from smartphones and tablets, using the social network app. To do this, grab your mobile device, access the home screen of the same and press the icon of the social network application.

Once the main Facebook screen is displayed, presses the button depicting three lines horizontally located on the right, scroll the screen that is shown to you and then presses on the items Settings and privacy And Settings, then go up Personal informations, tap on the item Deactivate that you find located in the lower right part of the new screen displayed, corresponding to the item Account.

Finally, type the password of your Facebook account and confirm your willingness to hibernate the profile to complete the procedure correctly.

In case of second thoughts

How to hibernate Facebook

Since this is not a real deletion of the profile, if you have real second thoughts about hibernating Facebook you can resume using your account at any time, thus canceling the above procedure. To re-enable the use of your account, simply go to the main page of the social network and log in by entering the data you have always used to access your account. Once logged in, a message will warn you that your account has been successfully reactivated.

Subsequently, the Facebook profile will be immediately reactivated and you can continue to use it without problems as you did until before the deactivation procedure of the same.

The procedure to be carried out to re-enable the Facebook profile after hibernating it is very simple but if you still need more details you can take a look at my guide on how to re-enable the Facebook account.

What to do to permanently delete the account

How to hibernate Facebook

Have you thought about it well and rather than hibernating Facebook would you like to permanently delete your profile? In this case, connect to your account as I indicated in the previous lines and then click on the icon arrow which is located at the top right of the main page of the social network and select the item Settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that will open at this point, click on the icon Your information on Facebook located in the left sidebar, select the item Delete your account and information, click on the button Delete my account, type the password of your account in the field that appears on the screen and check the box to confirm don’t be a robot. Then he presses the button OK And that’s it.

If everything went well, at this point you will be shown a message from Facebook warning you that your account has been deleted.

Like the procedure for hibernating Facebook, all the operations to be carried out for the actual cancellation of the account can also be performed from smartphones and tablets.

If you intend to deactivate your account by acting from a smartphone or tablet, just start the Facebook app directly from your device, press the icon depicting three horizontal lines, tap on the items Settings and privacy> Settings> Delete your account and information and stick to the procedure that I have indicated to you in the previous lines.

If you need more details on what to do, consult my tutorial on how to delete Facebook account through which I have provided you with all the necessary explanations.