Skip to content

How to disable secret conversation on Messenger

Rate this post

Among the messaging apps you have installed on your smartphone, Messenger it is definitely the one you use the most, as it allows you to chat with Facebook friends. Despite this, you still have doubts about the use of some of its specific features, such as the one concerning the secret conversations (i.e. conversations protected by encryption that offer the possibility to set a timer for the automatic deletion of messages).

To be precise, since you don’t intend to use this feature, you’re wondering how to deactivate a secret conversation on Messenger and you would like to know if I can give you a hand in this regard. Well, I’m happy to tell you the answer is yes! In the course of the next chapters, in fact, I will have the opportunity to explain step by step how to succeed in this intent and, if I need it, also how to delete active secret conversations in the Messenger app for Android and iOS.

How do you say? Are you curious to know more and can’t wait to get started? In that case, sit down comfortably and keep your smartphone handy. So, take a few minutes of free time and carefully read the instructions I am about to give you, in order to put them into practice. Are you ready to get started? Yup? Very good! At this point, there is nothing left for me to do but wish you a good read and a good time!

Deactivate a secret conversation on Messenger

If you wonder how to deactivate a secret conversation on Messenger, know that to succeed in your intent you must use the app of Messenger for Android or iOS. Secret conversations, in fact, are a feature available only on smartphones and tablets, therefore on Android and iOS. The procedures I am about to show you are identical on both operating systems.

That said, start Messenger, the messaging app of Facebook, pressing on his icon in light blue and white color located on the home screen and / or in the drawer of your device.

Now, in the main screen of the app (Chat), tap onyour profile icon which is located in the upper left corner and, in the menu that is shown to you, press on the item Secret conversations.

At this point, if you want to completely disable secret conversations on Messenger, so that you can no longer receive encrypted messages or start new secret conversations on your devices, all you have to do is move the lever Secret conversations from ON to OFF. You didn’t think it was that easy, did you?

Turn off secret conversation notifications on Messenger

Messenger notifications

If your intent is to turn off notifications for secret conversations, you will be happy to know that you can succeed in this intent, always using the app of Messenger for Android or iOS.

In that case, to proceed, launch the instant messaging app you previously downloaded on your device and, on the screen Chat, locate the secret conversation of your interest: once this is done, swipe from left to right in correspondence with it and press thebell icon.

Now, in the menu that is shown to you, press on the item relating to the period of time in which you want to disable notifications (for 15 minutes, for 1 hour, for 8 hours, for 24 hours) or presses on the voice Until I reactivate them, to deactivate them until your next reactivation. In the latter case, to reactivate notifications, you will have to press onbell crossed out icon.

If you want, you can also activate the option in question by directly entering the conversation screen of your interest. Once this is done, click on user’s name (top) and touch thebell icon, to deactivate the reception of notifications.

Delete secret conversation on Messenger

Messenger chat

As an alternative to disabling chat notifications or the feature that allows you to start secret conversations on Messenger, you can proceed with the massive deletion of all secret conversations started previously or with the deletion of a single secret chat.

To do this, launch the Messenger, pressing on his icon in light blue and white color that you can see located on the home screen and / or in the drawer of your device. Then, acting on the main screen of the app, presses on theyour profile icon located at the top left and, in the menu that is shown to you, tap on the item Secret conversations.

If you want, therefore, to proceed with the deletion of all secret conversations active on your mobile devices, click on the button Delete secret conversations and confirm the operation by tapping the button Delete.

If, on the other hand, you have a secret conversation with a user of Facebook and you want to delete it individually, tap it, in order to view it (keep in mind that secret conversations are marked by theicon with padlock symbol), tap on first name of the person located at the top and, in the menu that is shown to you, press on the item Delete conversation. If you are using a smartphone or tablet Android, you must also confirm the operation by pressing on the item Delete.

Messenger

To delete a single secret conversation faster, you can also swipe from left to right, corresponding to it on the screen Chat from Messenger and press the icon trash can. Easy, right?