Skip to content

How to delete the friend request button on Facebook

Rate this post

How to delete the friend request button on Facebook: “Facebook helps you connect and stay in touch with the people in your life“. This is precisely the purpose of the famous social network founded by Mark Zuckerberg: to give users the opportunity to contact their loved ones on an online platform. However, if you are reading this guide, it is likely that you have already received friend requests from complete strangers or, in any case, from people with whom you do not have any kind of confidential relationship. If that’s the case, you might want to know how to delete the friend request button on Facebook. Did I guess?

Well, in that case, I’m sorry to disappoint you but sadly, it is not possible to get such a result. Or better … it is not possible to hide the friend request button from all users of the social network. Since one of the main features of Facebook is to enlarge your circle of friends, it is not possible to completely eliminate the “Add to friends” button: what you can do, however, is to change some privacy settings of your account. , in order to prevent certain types of users from sending friend requests.

What am I referring to? I will explain it to you shortly. Courage: make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, try to follow the instructions I will give you step-by-step. There is nothing left for me to do, but wish you happy reading and wish you a big good luck for everything!

How to delete the friend request button on Facebook from smartphones and tablets

Delete the friend request button on Facebook from smartphones and tablets it is not complicated at all: to do so, just log into your account, go to the privacy settings of your profile and change those concerning the receipt of friend requests.

As I mentioned earlier, however, you can hide the friend request button only from those who are not friends of your Facebook friends: if a user is in the contact list of your friend on Facebook, they can still send you a request. . So far all clear? Well then let’s proceed!

First, launch the official Facebook app on your device Android or iOS, log in to your account (if you have not already done so) and press the button (≡) located at the top right (on Android) or bottom right (on iOS). Now, scroll to the bottom of the screen that opens, tap on the item Setting and privacy, presses on the wording Settings and, in the screen that opens, locate the section Privacy, placed at the bottom.

At this point, tap on the item Privacy Settings, locate the section How people find and contact you and select the wording Who can send you friend requests?, so as to access the settings section that allows you to decide who can send you new friend requests on Facebook. On the screen Friendship request, which at this point you should see, put the check mark on the option Friends of friends And that’s it.

From now on, only those who have mutual friends with you will see the “add to friends”And they will be able to send you new friend requests. Have you seen how easy it was to be able to complete the goal you set for yourself?

I also point out that from the screen Privacy Settings (which, I remind you, you can reach by pressing the button (≡) and then tapping on the items Settings and Privacy> Settings> Privacy Settings) you can change other settings, such as those that let you choose who can look for you using the phone number you provided And who can search for you using the email address you provided.

If you want more information on how to privatize your Facebook profile through these and other settings, I suggest you take a look at the guide I just linked to, because it will certainly be useful to you.

How to delete the friend request button on Facebook from a computer

If you don’t want to give anyone the ability to send you friend requests on Facebook, know that also from computer it’s possible delete the friend request button and, as I mentioned a few lines above, offer this possibility only to those who are friends of your friends on the social network. To be able to complete this operation, you simply need to log into your Facebook account, go to the privacy settings of your profile and change the option concerning the receipt of friend requests.

To begin with, then go to the main page Facebook from your browser (or start your own official Facebook application for Windows 10) and log into your account (if you haven’t already). Then click on the symbol (▾) located on the blue bar of the social network (in the upper right corner of the page) and select the item Settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, click on the item Privacy in the left sidebar and locate the section How people find or contact you, in the right part of the box. At this point, locate the wording Who can send you friend requests?, click the link Edit placed next to the latter and, from the menu that opens, select the item Friends of friends, to make sure that not all Facebook subscribers can send you friend requests. By changing the setting in question, you can make the “add to friends”Is not visible to users who are not friends of your friends on Facebook. Happy?

If you are interested in this, I would like to point out that, from the settings page where you are, you can also choose who can search for you using the email address you provided And who can look for you using the phone number you provided, so as to prevent certain categories of users from finding your Facebook profile through the contact information you have provided.

If you want more information on how to privatize your Facebook profile, I suggest you take a look at the guide I just linked to, because it will certainly be useful.