Skip to content

How to delete messages on Instagram

Rate this post

How to delete messages on Instagram: He sent a message on by mistake Instagram and now would you like to understand if there is a way to cancel it? Are you afraid that someone might sneak up on the messages you have exchanged with other Instagram users, and for this reason, would you like to delete these conversations? If you answered yes to these questions, you have landed on the right guide at the right time! With this tutorial today, in fact, we are going to discover together how to delete messages on instagram acting as both a smartphone and a computer.

Give me some of your free time and I’ll show you both the procedure to follow to delete entire conversations and the procedure to delete individual messages. Of course, if the users you’ve sent a message to have already viewed it, it won’t do much good to delete it. Do you agree? Well, then I would say to put aside the chatter immediately and get into the heart of this post.

Strength and courage: make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, implement the “tips” that I will give you. I assure you that you will be able to delete all your messages on Instagram in a very simple way, regardless of the smartphone model and the operating system you use. Happy reading and have fun!

How to delete received messages from Instagram

Let’s see, first of all, how to delete messages from instagram received. Below you will find explained how to act both from a smartphone and from a computer.

From smartphone

To delete conversations fromInstagram app for smartphones (officially available for Android And iPhone), start the latter on your device, log in to your account (if required), tap on the symbol of cottage located at the bottom left and then presses the icon ofairplane located at the top right (or on the red dot with the number corresponding to new messages received).

On Androidmake a long tap on the conversation that you want to eliminate, presses on the item Delete from the menu that opens and then confirm the operation by pressing once again on the item Delete.

On iOSinstead, after identifying the conversation you want to delete, swipe it from right to left and press the button Delete. In the menu that opens, select the item Delete, to confirm the deletion of the chat, and that’s it. If you do not see the “Delete” button, after swiping from right to left on the conversation to be deleted, press the button Other and then tap the button Delete (twice).

If you want delete individual messages received, know that at the moment it is not allowed to do this. Once you delete the entire conversation, it will no longer be visible in your inbox, but it will still be visible to people in the chat.

From PC

Delete Instagram chats from PC

Do you prefer to delete messages received on Instagram by acting from PC? If so, launch the Instagram application for Windows 10log in to your account (if necessary), locate the chat you want to delete and, holding down the left mouse button on its preview, perform a sort of “swipe” from right to left.

At this point, click on the red button Delete appeared on the screen and confirm the operation by clicking on the item Delete in the opened box. Do you want to delete individual messages received? As I have already told you previously, at the moment it is not possible to do this, as Instagram only allows you to delete entire chats.

Once you have deleted the entire chat, it will no longer be visible in your mail, but it will continue to be visible to the people included in it.

How to cancel sending messages on Instagram

Desires cancel sending messages on Instagram? No problem! The photographic social network integrates an ad hoc function that allows you to cancel the messages sent (without paying attention to any time limit).

Before explaining how to proceed, it is my duty to inform you of one important thing: the deleted messages may have already been viewed by the recipients and therefore it could be of little use to destroy them. So far clear? Well then let’s proceed!

From smartphone

Cancel sending a message on Instagram

For delete messages on Instagram Direct and, in this case, those sent, it is possible to act directly from theInstagram app for smartphones (available for both Android that for iPhone). Start, therefore, the latter on your device, log in to your account (if necessary), press the symbol of cottage located at the bottom left and then tap on the icon ofairplane located at the top right (or on the red dot with the number located in the same position).

Then open the chat of your interest, by tapping on it, make a long tap on the message you want to delete, press on the voice Cancel sending the message in the opened menu and, if necessary, confirm the operation by pressing on the item Cancel sending the message from the box that appeared on the screen.

As if by “magic”, the message will be deleted from both your account and the recipient’s. Keep in mind, however, that the latter will receive a notification regarding the deletion of the message: if he has not read it, however, he will not be able to read its content.

From PC

Cancel sending Instagram messages from PC

You downloaded theofficial Instagram application on your Windows 10 PC? If you don’t have your smartphone handy, you can cancel the sending of messages from it too. Let me tell you how to proceed.

To begin with, start the Instagram app on your computer, log into your account (if required), click on theairplane located at the top right and, on the screen Directselect the conversation containing the messages you want to delete.

At this point, make a long click on one of the messages you want to delete, click on the item Cancel sending the message in the menu that opens and confirm the operation by clicking the gray button again Cancel sending the message. If you delete the message immediately after sending it, you will not have to press twice on “Cancel sending the message”.

If you have correctly performed the procedure I have indicated above, the message you selected will be deleted both from your account and from that of the recipient (who will still be informed of the deletion of a message).

How to delete comments on Instagram

Delete comments on Instagram

You absent-mindedly left a comment to a post posted on Instagram and now you want to know how to delete it? Also in this case, the procedure you need to follow is very simple, whether you want to work from mobile or from your PC.

To delete a comment on Androidstart theInstagram app, log in to your account (if required), locate the post containing the comment you want to remove and make a long tap on it. Finally, tap on the icon of dustbin placed at the top right and that’s it. You can also delete multiple comments at the same time by clicking on the button located at the top right, by tapping on the item Manage commentsby checking the comments to be deleted (max 25) and finally pressing on Delete and Delete comments.

To delete a comment on iPhoneinstead, start theInstagram applocate the post containing the comment you want to delete, swipe from right to left on the comment itself and then press the symbol of the white dustbin on red background to complete the procedure. To delete several comments in series, instead, click on the button located at the top right and tap on the item Manage comments; then check the comments to be deleted (max 25) and press on Delete and Delete comments.

If, on the other hand, you want to delete a comment you posted on Instagram directly from PClinked to the login page of the social network, log in to your account, locate the post containing the comment in question, click on it in order to open it (if necessary), click on the symbol (…) located next to it and, in the box that opens, select the item Delete.

Finally, to act fromInstagram application for Windows 10, start the latter on your PC, log into your account, locate the comment you want to delete and, holding down the left mouse button on the comment itself, perform a sort of “swipe” from right to left. Then click on the icon of white dustbin on red background who appeared to complete the procedure. Did you see that it wasn’t that difficult?