Skip to content

How to delete Facebook messages

Rate this post

Are you looking for a way to delete all chats from Facebook at the same time? You are new to the world of social networks and you don’t know yet how to delete messages on Facebook? In both cases – I am happy to announce it – you have come to the right place at the right time!

Before reading this guide, keep in mind the fact that what you are about to carry out is an irreversible operation and that does not involve second thoughts. Consequently, once deleted, Facebook conversations can no longer be recovered in any way (except by recalling them from the account of the other people who participated in them … but that’s another story!). If you are still not very sure what to do, then, instead of deleting the messages on Facebook, I suggest you simply archive them, so that you can always and in any case access them in case of second thoughts.

Are you ready? Yup? Very well, then let’s ban the chatter, roll up your sleeves and immediately start getting busy. Try to follow my instructions carefully and scrupulously and you will see that you will not have the slightest problem in completing your “business” today. Now there is nothing left for me to do, except wish you happy reading and wish you a big good luck for everything!

Delete Facebook messages from your computer

If you have used Facebook since computer, surely you will want to know how to delete messages sent via Messenger. Let me explain it to you in detail.

Delete the messages

If you use Facebook mainly from your computer, you can delete individual messages and entire conversations by going to the section Chat of the social network. It’s very easy, now I’ll explain in detail how to do it.

To delete Facebook messages from your computer, the first step you need to take is to login to the social network. To do this, open the browser with which you usually surf the net (for example Chrome or Safari), type www.facebook.com in the address bar and then press the button Enter on the keyboard to connect to the main Facebook page. Now fill in the appropriate forms located at the top right by typing theemail address or the telephone number that you use to access the social network and its password and presses the button Log in.

Once logged in, click on the icon comic book located at the top right of the blue bar, select the item See them all on Messenger from the box that appears and then click on the chat you want to delete. At this point, press the button with the symbol ofgear that you can view under the username, by hovering the mouse over the preview screen of the conversation to be deleted (the one on the left) and, if you want to delete the entire conversation, select the option Delete.

Alternatively, if you want to delete individual messages in the chat, after clicking on the conversation to be deleted, you will have to go to the single message. Then click on the icon with the symbol of three dots, select the option Remove for you or Remove for all (if the message has been sent less than 10 minutes ago) and confirm the operation by clicking on the button Remove.

Archive messages

How to delete Facebook messages

Still not sure if you want to permanently remove one or more messages? So, instead of deleting them, I suggest you archive them. How you do it? I’ll explain it to you right away.

To begin with, go to the Facebook section from which you can access the chats as already seen in the previous lines, identify the conversation you want to act on and click on it.

At this point, click on the button with the gear symbol which you can see by hovering the mouse over the desired conversation preview screen. Then, from the menu that is shown to you, click on the item Archive.

In this way, the entire conversation with the Facebook user you interacted with will be archived. Unlike deletion, archiving is temporary, but it is not possible to act on a single message. Archiving, in fact, is a procedure that concerns only the entire conversation.

Do you want to view – and delete – the messages stored in your Facebook account? No problem; I’ll tell you how to do it right away. To do this, click the button with the gear symbol which you find at the top left of the Facebook chat view screen on Messenger. Then choose the item Conversations archived from the menu that is shown to you, then click on the conversation you want to delete, press the button with gear symbol that you will see by hovering the mouse over it.

Select the option from this section Delete if you want to delete the entire conversation. If you want to delete individual messages in the chat, click the icon with the three dots symbol in correspondence with the message you intend to delete and then select the item Delete.

In the first case, to complete the operation, after choosing the item Delete from the displayed menu, you will have to press on the item again Delete from the confirmation menu Delete conversation which will appear on the screen. If, on the other hand, you have decided to delete a single message from a conversation, click on the button Delete from the confirmation menu Delete message to complete the procedure.

Delete Facebook messages from smartphones and tablets

If you prefer to act from smartphone And Tablet, as you usually log into Messenger from your mobile devices, know that delete messages on Facebook it’s not complicated at all. Follow the instructions below and you will see that you will succeed without problems.

Delete the messages

How to delete Facebook messages

If you want to delete messages on Messenger from your mobile device, launch its official app
for Android/iOS, log in to your account (if necessary), locate the conversation you want to delete and hold your finger on it. Next, tap on the symbol of dustbin that appears on the right and selects the item Delete chat to delete the entire conversation.

To delete individual messages from a chat, on the other hand, open the one you want to act on, keep your finger pressed on the message you want to delete, select the item Remove from the menu that opens (bottom right) and tap on the item Remove for you if you want to delete the message only from your chat or on Remove for all (if the message was sent less than 10 minutes ago). In both cases, confirm the operation by tapping on the item Remove from the notice that appears on the screen.

Archive messages

How to delete Facebook messages

You do not want to permanently delete Facebook messages from your smartphone or tablet, but you are interested in understanding how to do it archive them on the move? Well, know that even then you have to resort to using the Facebook Messenger app.

To archive messages on Facebook through the app in question, you have to follow a very simple procedure. I indicate it to you in the following lines.

  • If you use a device Android, keep your finger pressed on the chat to be archived, tap the button (≡) and select the item Archive from the menu that opens.
  • If you are using an iPhone / iPad, locate the chat to delete, hold your finger on the conversation to be archived and press on the voice Hide the chat.

The archiving of messages received on Facebook only allows you to act on entire conversations. Unlike deletion, in fact, it is not possible to archive single messages but only entire conversations.