Skip to content

How to delete Facebook group

Rate this post

How to delete Facebook group: Have you followed my guide on how to create a group on Facebook but now you have changed your mind and would like to delete the created group? If this is the case, know that fortunately there is a remedy for everything and that delete Facebook group it’s possible.

In fact, to delete the Facebook group, all you have to do is follow the appropriate and simple procedure that I am about to show you. Don’t worry if you have only recently joined the social network and still don’t know very well how to juggle the various items and settings. The steps you will need to take can be performed by everyone without any kind of problem.

Then dedicate yourself to reading the following lines to find out how to delete Facebook group.

Before explaining how to delete a Facebook group, however, I want to specify one very important thing: only the administrators of the same can delete groups on Facebook. This means that if it was not you who created the group or you do not currently have full rights to administer it, you will not be able to carry out the cancellation procedure.

Having defined this, if you have verified that you have all the credentials to delete the Facebook group, the first thing you need to do is access the social network by entering the login data relating to your account, type the name of the group on which you want to act in the appropriate bar search located at the top of the Facebook screen and select the result corresponding to the group. Alternatively, you can access the Facebook group you want to delete by clicking on the name of the same attached to the section Groups in the left sidebar of Facebook. If the group is not visible in the list, presses on the item Other displayed by placing the cursor on the item Groups.

Once logged in to the group page click on the item Members present under the name of the group and the cover image possibly chosen for the same in order to access the list of all the members of the group.

Now you have to proceed by deleting all members of the group. In fact, on Facebook there is no specific command to delete groups but all those who have no members are automatically deleted from the social network. To complete the procedure by which to delete Facebook group you must then click on the gear wheel icon under the name of each member of the group and click on the item Remove from group attached to the menu that is shown to you.

Once all members have been deleted you can finally delete Facebook group by simply unsubscribing from the group. To do this, just go back to the main page of the group by clicking on the item Discussion present at the top of the page, under the name of the group and under any cover image, click on the item Enrolled and choose the item Leave the group from the displayed menu.

Screenshot showing how to delete Facebook group

In the box that opens, confirm your choice by clicking on the button Delete group after which the group will be deleted immediately.

Keep in mind that if you are not the only administrator and you want to delete the Facebook group in order to be able to do this you will have to invite the other administrators of the group to unsubscribe from it. If this does not happen, even if you leave the group personally, you will not be able to close it.

In addition to what I have just indicated, you should know that you can also delete the Facebook group by acting from the Facebook app that you have installed on your smartphone or tablet.

To do this, start the Facebook app on your device by pressing its icon. On the screen that will open, press the icon with the three horizontal lines, scroll through the list of items displayed and then tap on the name of the group you want to delete in the section Groups.

Now press on the voice Other with the three dots icon located at the top right and tap on View group information from the displayed menu. Press now on Number of members where instead of Number you will find the total number of members of the group and proceed with the elimination of each member by pressing the icon depicting a little man and a gear wheel next to the name of each user and choosing the item Remove from the displayed menu.

Screenshot showing how to delete Facebook group

Once all members have been deleted you can finally delete Facebook group by simply unsubscribing from the group. To do this, just go back to the main screen of the group, press on the item Registration completed present under the name of the group and any cover image and choosing the item Leave the group from the displayed menu.

Clearly also in this case, if you are not the only administrator and you want to delete the Facebook group in order to be able to do this, you will also have to invite the other administrators of the group to unsubscribe.