How to delete Facebook friends list: On the advice of your best friend, thinking they might be useful to you, you created custom lists on Facebook to “separate” the members of your family and your closest friends from your work colleagues and simple acquaintances. However, with the passage of time, you have realized that you have never used the created lists and that they have not been of any help to you. For this reason, you have decided to retrace your steps and delete all the lists of friends on your Facebook account. Unfortunately, however, all your attempts did not give the desired result and now you no longer know where to turn your head to succeed in your intent. If this is actually the case, I don’t see where the problem lies: if you want, I’m here to explain how to do it.
If you give me a few minutes of your free time, I can point you out how to delete facebook friends list also explaining the difference between custom lists and smart lists. First, I’ll walk you through the walkthrough to permanently delete your own created friend lists, and then I’ll give you all the steps you need to take to archive the default Facebook lists that can’t be deleted. In addition, I will also explain how to delete individual people from a friends list and how to edit the list by changing its name. How do you say? Is that exactly what you wanted to know? Then don’t delay and get deeper into the topic right away.
Courage: make yourself comfortable, take five minutes of free time and dedicate yourself to reading the next paragraphs. Follow the directions I am about to give you carefully, try to put them into practice and I assure you that deleting your Facebook friends lists will be as easy as drinking a glass of water. All that’s left for me is to wish you good reading and a big good luck for everything!
Before explaining yourself in detail how to delete facebook friends list, it is necessary to make a necessary premise. In fact, on the famous social network it is possible both to create lists of friends and to add one’s acquaintances to the lists created automatically by Facebook.
The latter are called smart lists and they are not erasable. If, then, you are wondering how to delete the lists Closer friends, Acquaintances, With restrictions and all the lists automatically generated by Facebook, I’m sorry to inform you that you will have to give up. However, it will be useful to know that in addition to renaming them and removing the friends contained within these lists, it is possible to archive them to make them disappear from the main page of your profile.
Furthermore, you must know that from smartphones and tablets it is possible to add your friends to already existing lists but, at least at the time of writing this guide, the possibility of deleting or archiving a list has not yet been introduced, nor using the application of the social network for devices Android And iOS nor proceeding from a browser. To delete a list, therefore, it is necessary to proceed from a computer. All clear? Well then I’d say we can take action!
Permanently delete your Facebook friends list
Permanently delete a Facebook friends list it’s a quick and easy procedure: with just a few clicks, you can delete a list that is no longer used. The operation is irreversible and the deleted list can no longer be recovered. However, the friends included in the list in question will be able to access the contents published in the past within the list itself.
To proceed, connect to main page of the social network and, if you haven’t already, log into your account. Then enter your data in the fields Email or phone And Password and presses the button Log in. If you have any problems, you may find my guide on how to log into Facebook useful.
Now, locate the section Explore in the left sidebar, click the entry Other and choose the option Friends list. In the new open page, pause with the mouse pointer on the list you want to delete, click on the icon gear wheel and select the item Delete list from the menu that appears. Press the button Delete list to confirm your intention and that’s it.
Alternatively, in the screenshot Friends, click the first name of the list of your interest, presses the button Manage list located at the top right and choose the option Delete list, then click on the entry Delete list to delete it permanently.
Archive Facebook friends list
As I explained to you in the previous paragraphs, it is not possible to delete a default Facebook list. However, if you no longer want to see any of these on your main account page, you can choose the option Archive.
After connecting to your Facebook account, choose the item Friends list present in the left sidebar (if you do not see it, click on the option Other), pause with the mouse pointer on the first name of the list of your interest (eg. Acquaintances, Family, Closer friends, With restrictions etc.), presses the icon of gear wheel and choose the option Archive list from the menu that opens.
If you want to see the details of the list you want to archive, click on its first name. After verifying the information of interest to you, click on the button List managers at the top right, select the option Archive list and presses the button Archive.
In this case, unlike the deleted custom lists, you can recover the archived list at any time. In fact, by accessing the screen with the list of all the lists and clicking on the name of the previously archived list, you can retrace your steps by pressing the button Manage list and selecting the item Reset from the menu that opens.
Alternatively, if you plan to create a new list, rather than archiving a default Facebook one, you can decide to use the latter by changing its name. In that case, go to the section Friends list and click on list of your interest, then presses the button Manage list at the top right and select the option Rename list from the menu that appears. Then insert the new one first name to be assigned to the list in the appropriate field, press the button Save And that’s it.
Delete friends from the Facebook list
If with “delete Facebook friends list” you intend to remove only some friends from the list of your interest, you can do it simply by accessing the profile of the person you intend to delete from the list.
Then write the name of the friend of your interest in the field Near at the top and select the person from the list of results proposed by Facebook, then access his profile, click on the button Friends and remove the check mark from the list from which you intend to remove your friend. To see the list of all lists, choose the option Add to another list and repeat the procedure just described to remove the person from the list of your interest.
Alternatively, locate the section Explore in the left sidebar, choose the item Friends list and click on first name of the list to be edited. In the newly opened page, select the item Show all present in the box In this list, find the person you want to remove and click on theirs profile picture. Pigia, then on the button end to save the changes and that’s it.
In this case, you can also proceed from smartphones and tablets using the Facebook application. After starting it, type the first name of the person to be removed in the field Near at the top, select the friend of your interest and tap his first name. On his profile screen, tap on the item Friends, choose the option Edit friend lists and remove the check mark next to the list (or lists) you want to remove it from.
In case of problems
If you have followed the instructions I have given you in the previous paragraphs in detail but have not been able to delete the lists of your interest, you can contact Facebook support and report the problem encountered.
To make a report to Facebook, connect to main page of the social network, log into your account and click on the icon ? present at the top right. From the menu that appears, then choose the item Report a problem and select the option Something does not work, then press on the item Other via the drop-down menu Where did the problem occur? and describe your problem in the field What happened?. Pigia, then on the button Send to send your report and that’s it.
From smartphones and tablets, start the Facebook app, tap the button ≡, select the item Assistance and support and presses on the option Report a problem. Then choose the item Something does not work, click on the option Other, describe your problem in the field Add an explanation and tap the button Send. To find out more, you can read my guide on how to contact Facebook.