Skip to content

How to delete a post from Facebook

Rate this post

How to delete a post from Facebook: “Oh no! I was not supposed to publish this post, now all my friends are going to make fun of me!“Come on, do not despair: it can happen to everyone to make mistakes when publishing a post on Facebook. The important thing is to notice it in time and remedy the error before it is too late by deleting the post or, if you really want to keep it in your diary, modifying it by making the necessary corrections.

How do you say? Have you already tried delete a post from Facebook but, not having succeeded alone, would you like me to give you a hand? I’ll settle you right away: in the next paragraphs I will show you how to delete a post either through the “classic” post deletion procedure, which can be done directly from the Facebook diary, or by acting on the social network activity log.

So, are you ready to get started? Yup? Fantastic! Let’s not waste any more time and let’s roll up our sleeves: make yourself comfortable, take all the time necessary to concentrate on reading this tutorial and, more importantly, follow the instructions I will give you step by step. You will see, deleting a post from Facebook will be a breeze. I wish you good reading and have fun!

Delete a post from Facebook

Delete a post from Facebook it is an operation of disarming simplicity. However, for those who (like you) have recently used the social network or, in any case, are not very familiar with it, it may not seem so intuitive. So let’s find out how to proceed both from smartphones and tablets and from PCs. One last clarification before starting: when a post is deleted from Facebook it is not possible to recover it in any way. Before proceeding to delete a post, therefore, think carefully whether you really want to delete it or not.

Android

You want to delete a post from your Facebook diary and would like to proceed directly from your device Android? Then know that all you have to do is log into your Facebook account from the official social network app, locate the post you want to delete and then delete it using the appropriate button.

Then start theofficial Facebook app on your device, log into your account (if necessary) and go to your profile by tapping on Your photo, which is next to the text box What are you thinking about?.

Then locate the post you intend to delete, tap the button (…) placed in the upper right corner of the post in question, presses on the item Delete from the menu that opens and then confirm your intention by selecting the item Delete post from the box that appears on the screen.

An “alternative” procedure by which you can delete posts from your Facebook diary is to act from Activity log. If you do not know it, this section of the social network contains in chronological order all the main activities carried out on your account – including the published posts – and therefore allows you to delete and hide the posts from your diary.

To proceed, press on the item Activity log (the symbol ofbulleted list placed in the box containing the public information of your Facebook profile), tap on the item Filter and, in the screen that opens, select the item Post. Then locate the post you want to delete, tap the button (⌵) placed next to it, select the item Delete from the menu that opens and that’s it.

As you may have noticed, whether you choose to delete a post by acting directly from the diary or the Activity Log section of your account, the operation of deleting a post on Facebook is really simple.

iOS

Do you want to delete a post on Facebook and would like to know how to do this from iOS? Again, to proceed you must first log into your Facebook account, locate the post you want to delete and then delete it using the appropriate button.

To begin with, open theFacebook app on your iPhone or iPad, log into your account (if necessary) and go to your profile by pressing on Your photo, which is next to the wording What are you thinking about?.

Then locate the post you want to delete from the diary, press the button (…) located in the upper right corner of the same, tap on the item Delete from the menu that appears and confirm the deletion of the post by selecting the item Delete post from the box that opens.

If you want, you can cancel a post by acting on the Activity log of Facebook, the section that chronologically sorts posts and many other information regarding your account.

To proceed, tap on the item Activity log (the icon ofbulleted list located in the box containing the public information of your profile), presses on the item Filter and select the item Post in the screen that appears. Now you just have to find the post you want to delete, press the button (⌵) next to it and select the item Delete from the menu that opens.

PC

You would like to know how to carry out the operations that I have illustrated to you in the previous chapters also from PC? I’ll settle you immediately! What you have to do, even in this case, is to log into your Facebook account, locate the post you want to delete and delete it.

Ready to get started? Great: linked to the Facebook login page, log in to your account, go to your profile by clicking on Your name (at the top, in the blue Facebook bar), locate the post you want to delete from the diary, press the button (…) located in the upper right corner of the same, select the item Delete from the menu that opens and then click on the blue button Delete from the box that appears on the screen.

Alternatively, you can delete a post directly from the Activity log, that is the section of the Facebook account that collects in chronological order the various actions made on one’s profile: from the published posts to those that have been “liked”, passing through those that have been commented on.

To proceed, click the button View Activity Log (located in the lower right corner of the cover image of your profile) and, on the page that opens, select the item Post from the side menu located on the left. Finally, locate the post you want to delete from your diary, click on the icon pencil which is located in correspondence with the same, presses the button Delete from the menu that opens and confirm its cancellation by pressing the blue button Delete which is present in the box that appears on the screen.

Admit it: deleting posts published on your Facebook diary wasn’t hard at all, was it? I told you it was as easy as drinking a glass of water.

Other useful solutions

While reading this tutorial, did you notice that, instead of deleting a post from your Facebook diary, you would simply like to hide it from some users? If so, you can simply change the post privacy settings And that’s it. To do this, follow the steps below.

  • On Android And iOS, go to your profile from the Facebook app, locate the post you want to hide, select the menu for changing the privacy settings of the latter (the symbol (…)) and select the option you prefer (eg. Only me, Specific friends, etc.).
  • On PC, after going to your profile and identifying the post to hide, press the button (▾) placed immediately after your name and select the privacy setting you want to use (eg. Only me, Friends except …, etc.).

If any of the steps are not clear to you or if you simply wish to have more information and details on how to hide posts on facebook, take a look at the tutorial I just linked to you. I am sure this further study will also be useful to you.