Skip to content

How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read

Rate this post

You sent a message on Messenger to the wrong person and now would you like to remedy the mistake? Fortunately for you, Facebook’s messaging service offers an ad hoc feature that allows you to delete messages sent in the last 10 minutes, making sure that they are not seen by recipients.

If you want to find out how to best use this function and, therefore, how to delete a message on Messenger before it is read, know that you have come to the right place at the right time! In the next paragraphs, in fact, I will have the opportunity to explain to you in detail how to perform this operation not only from smartphones and tablets, but also from the computer.

So, are you ready to get started? Yup? Optimal! Make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, try to put into practice the directions I will give you. There is nothing left for me to do but wish you good reading and wish you a big good luck for everything!

Useful information

In the last quarter of 2018, Facebook has introduced a feature that allows all users to delete messages sent on Messenger. Thanks to this new feature, therefore, it is possible to delete a message not only from your own chat, but also from that of the recipient.

If you feel like you haven’t received the feature in question, make sure you have updated the official Messenger app on your device Android or iOS (at the time of writing, the Messenger application for Windows 10 does not integrate the function relating to the deletion of messages for all) following the procedures illustrated below.

  • Android – open the Play Store, tap the button (≡) located at the top left and select the item My apps and games from the bar that appears laterally. Then check for any updates for Messenger and presses the button Refresh placed next to the app icon (if available).
  • iOS – open theApp Store, tap the button Refresh located at the bottom right, find any updates for Messenger and presses the button Refresh placed next to the app icon (if present).

For more information on how to update Messenger, consult the in-depth study that I linked to you: there you will find even more detailed information in this regard.

As for the message deletion feature on Messenger, I want to tell you that this can be done within 10 minutes of sending of the message to be deleted: after this time, it will be possible to remove the message only from your own chat and not from that of the recipient.

Also note that by deleting the message from the recipient’s chat, the recipient will display the message “[Tuo nome] removed a message“. If everything is clear so far, I would say that we can proceed in earnest!

Delete a message on Messenger before it is read by smartphones and tablets

How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read

Delete a message on Messenger before it is read acting directly from smartphone And Tablet is a very simple operation: all you have to do is access the famous messaging app, locate the conversation you are interested in, select the message you want to delete and remove it for everyone, calling the appropriate function from the application menu (a provided that the message has been sent less than 10 minutes ago).

To proceed, therefore, start the official Messenger app on your device Android or iOS, log in to your account (if necessary) and tap on conversation of your interest. At this point, locate the message you want to delete before it is read by the recipient and make a long tap on it, in order to select it.

Then select the item Remove that appears in the lower right corner of the screen, select the item Remove for all from the menu that opens and confirms the operation by answering Remove to the question Do you want to remove the message for everyone? in the box that appears on the screen. If the user has not already read the message, they will not be able to view it even in the future: in its place, in fact, it will display the message “[Tuo nome] removed a message“.

In case you do not see the wording Remove for all, but only the option Remove for you after selecting the message you want to delete and tapping the button Remove, it is likely that more than 10 minutes have already passed since the sending of the latter and, therefore, it is no longer possible to cancel it.

If, on the other hand, less than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent but you still do not see the option in question, it may be that you have not updated the Facebook Messenger app on your device (as I have already explained to you in the initial chapter of the tutorial). For more information on how to do this, read my guide on how to update Messenger.

Delete a message on Messenger before it is read by the computer

You would like to know if it is possible to delete a message you have sent on Facebook Messenger by acting directly from computer, maybe because right now you don’t have your smartphone or tablet at hand? Of course you can! You can do this either by acting from the main page of Facebook than proceeding directly from Messenger.com: everything is explained below.

Facebook

How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read

If you prefer to act directly from Facebook, the first thing you need to do is connect to the main page of the social network using your favorite browser and log into your account (if you have not already done so). After that you have to click on the button Messages (the icon of the speech bubble with the symbol of lightning bolt inside) and select the conversation of your interest from the box that opens.

Once the chat of your interest has been opened, hover the mouse cursor over the message you wish to delete (before it is read by the recipient), click on the symbol (…) that appears next to it (on the left) and click on the item Remove.

In the box Who do you want to remove this message for?, then select the option Remove for all and click the blue button Remove at the bottom right. If the user has not already read the message you have decided to delete, they will not be able to read it even in the future and, in its place, will display the message “[Tuo nome] removed a message“.

If after selecting the message you want to delete and clicking the button Remove, you shouldn’t see the option Remove for all but only that Remove for you, evidently more than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent and, therefore, you no longer have the possibility to delete it.

Messenger.com

If you prefer to proceed from Messenger.cominstead, linked to the main page of the service, log in to your account (if you have not already done so) and open the conversation on which you want to delete one or more messages sent.

Then hover the mouse cursor over the message you want to delete, click on the symbol (…) that appears next to it (on the left) and click on the item Remove. Then select the option Remove for all from the box that opens and click on the item Remove placed at the bottom right of the box in question. Once the message has been deleted, the recipient will no longer be able to view it (its only “trace” will be the presence of the message “[Tuo nome] removed a message“).

In case you were not able to delete the message in question using the procedure described above, it is likely that more than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent.