Skip to content

How to deactivate Instagram account

Rate this post

How to deactivate Instagram account: After hearing so much about it from all your friends, you’ve finally decided to sign up for Instagram: however, once the initial euphoria has passed, you have begun to use this social network less and less and now, aware that this platform is not for you, you would like to know more about the possibilities you have available to deactivate your account.

Whether this is actually the case and whether, therefore, you ask yourself how to deactivate Instagram account, do not worry: you have come to the right place, indeed on the right guide! In the next chapters, in fact, I will explain to you everything that needs to be done to succeed in this intent. I will first explain how to take a break from the social network in question, temporarily suspending your account, and then how to “say goodbye” to it permanently, by closing your profile altogether.

If, therefore, you can’t wait to deepen the question and discover all the steps to take, continue reading: you will find everything explained below. I wish you a good read and I wish you a big good luck for everything!

Preliminary information

Before explaining yourself in detail how to deactivate Instagram accountI have to give you some important preliminary information about it.

You must know, in fact, that there is more than one option to limit one’s presence on the famous photographic social network: the first, as already mentioned in the opening bars of the post, provides for the temporary deactivation of the profile; the second, on the other hand, allows you to hide photos to all people except those who authorize themselves to view the profile; finally, the third, the more drastic one, provides for the permanent cancellation of the account.

Which solution is best suited to your case is entirely up to you to choose it; however you have to take into account that the deactivation temporary or definitive of the Instagram account can only be performed from a browser, acting through the official site of the social network. Therefore, if you ask yourself how to deactivate Instagram account from app, I’m sorry to tell you you can’t. You have to act from a web browser, which then is from a PC or smartphone / tablet, it makes no difference: the steps to be taken are always the same.

Furthermore, in case you want to opt for a permanent deactivation, I advise you in advance to make a backup of all the contents you have uploaded to Instagram, in order to have a local copy of them.

To do this, start the Instagram app for Android or iOSpresses the icon oflittle man, in order to go to your profile screen; after that, go to the section Settings> Security> Download data, pressing on the relative menu items. Finally, type theemail address where you want to get a copy of the data and press the button Request the downloadin order to receive the link for downloading the archive (the generation of the aforementioned link could also take a few hours or a few days).

You can also perform this operation from a PC, from the Instagram site; in this case, log into your account and click onlittle man icon located at the top right. At this point, go on Settings> Privacy and security and press the button Request the download.

Once this is done, press the button Forwardtype the password of your Instagram account and click the button Request the download to start creating the archive with all your data. This could take anywhere from a few minutes to several days, depending on the amount of data to be processed.

As an alternative to the download function offered by Instagram, you can make use of programs or applications that allow you to download in bulk all the photos on an Instagram profile, such as for example 4K Stograma free software for Windows And macOS which I told you about in more depth in my guide on how to save photos from Instagram.

How to disable Instagram account temporarily

Disable Instagram temporarily

For deactivate the Instagram account temporarilyyou must act from the website of the social network, using a browser for online browsing: the procedures, therefore, are the same, regardless of whether you decide to act as computer or from smartphone / tablet. However, be aware that this procedure can only be done once a week.

To get started, then, connect to the Instagram official site, and log into your account (if required). Now, click on theicon oflittle manto go to your screen profilepresses the button Edit your profilescroll the page that is shown to you and, finally, click on the item Temporarily disable my account.

At this point, specify the motivation behind your choice, using the drop-down menu located next to the item Why are you deactivating your account?. Then fill in the text field located next to the item To continue, enter your password againtyping the password related to your Instagram account and, finally, presses the button Temporarily disable your account.

Once these steps have been carried out, your Instagram account will be temporarily deactivated: consequently your photos, your comments and all your “likes” will be hidden until the account is reactivated.

Subsequently, in order to restore your Instagram account again, all you have to do is log in again from the app or browser: the temporary deactivation procedure will in fact be canceled and you can immediately start using your profile again just as you did until before the Suspension.

In case of doubts or problems, read my guide dedicated more specifically to the topic.

How to deactivate Instagram account permanently

Delete Instagram account

It is your intention deactivate the Instagram account permanently? Also in this case you must proceed from a web browser, by connecting to a specific section of the well-known photographic social network, which cannot be reached via the smartphone app.

Therefore, regardless of whether you are using a browser for browsing from computer or from smartphone / tablet, click here to immediately connect to the Instagram web page to delete the profile and, if requested, log in to your account by typing username And password.

On the Web page that will be shown to you at this point, presses on the drop-down menu located next to the item Why do you want to delete [nome del tuo account]? and select one of the available options, in order to explain to the Instagram team the reasons behind your choice to delete the account. Finally, type the password of your account and click the button Delete [nome del tuo account].

Once the procedure in question has been completed, your Instagram account will be permanently deleted and it will no longer be possible to reactivate the profile: to use the social network again, in fact, you will have to make a new registration.

In case of doubts or problems, read my guide dedicated more specifically to the topic.

Alternative solutions

Instagram private account

Alternatively, if you don’t want to deactivate your Instagram account but just want to hide your photos from people you don’t know, you can set your profile as private. By doing so, in fact, excluding your current followers – who will continue to be able to see your content – no Instagram user will be able to view the photos and videos you post, without your explicit authorization.

To set your account as a private account, start the Instagram app on your smartphone and go to the menu Settings> Privacy. Finally, move up ON the lever for the option Private account and confirm the operation by pressing on the item Switch to private mode.

To proceed from the Web, instead, go to the section Settings> Privacy and security of the Instagram official site and check the item Private account.

Once you have set up your Instagram account as private, in order for other people to see the content you post, you will need to approve the requests of those who wish to become your followers.

In case of second thoughts, to make your profile public again, go back to the Instagram privacy settings menu and move back to OFF the lever for the option Private account (or disable the check mark on the appropriate item, from the Web), confirming that you want to change the privacy and go to public mode.

For more information on this, refer to my more specific tutorial on the subject.