Skip to content

How to close Gmail account

Rate this post

How to close Gmail account: Would you like to close your Gmail account without giving up other Google-branded services? No problem. By entering the management panel of your Google account you can request the deactivation of Gmail without losing access to Google Drive, YouTube, Google Calendar and all the other services of the Mountain View giant.

Before close Gmail account you can also download a backup copy of the conversations and contacts on the service to your PC, all for free and without having to install special programs on your computer: even in this case, just access the control panel of the Google account and click on a couple of buttons.

To find out what are all the steps you need to take, read the guide below. We will first see how to deactivate the Gmail account by downloading a safety copy of messages and contacts and then how to request the complete cancellation of the Google account, in case you prefer to get rid of all the “big G” services completely. Good job!

Backup of Gmail messages

Before deleting your Gmail account, or even your Google account, download a backup copy of all messages and contacts on the service. How you do it? It’s that simple, don’t worry.

The first step you need to take is to connect to Google. com or google.it and click on yours photo located at the top right. After that you have to select the item Personal account from the box that appears and click on the link Check your content which is located in the center of the page that opens (in the boxPersonal information and privacy).

At this point, click on the button Create archive and choose which content to download to your PC: if you have decided to close Gmail account without deleting your Google account select only the items Mail And Contactsotherwise leave all backup options active and go Forward.

To conclude, click on Create archive and wait for the archive containing all the files of your Google / Gmail account to be prepared. The operation, depending on the amount of data to be processed, could go on for hours or even days. When the archive is ready for download you will receive an email that will notify you of this (so before then you will not be able to deactivate your email account).

Deactivate Gmail account

If you want to delete your Gmail address without losing your Google account (and therefore the rest of the “big G” services), go to Google. com or google.itclick on yours photo located at the top right and select the item Personal account from the menu that appears.

Next, click on the link Delete your account or your services located on the right side of the page (in the box Account preferences) and go up Delete products. At this point, locate Gmail in the list of services connected to your Google account and click on the icon trash can placed next to the latter.

On the page that opens, then put the check mark next to the item Yes, I want to permanently delete [indirizzo]@ gmail.com and remove it from my Google accounttype the new email address you want to associate with your Google account in the text field New primary email address (you can use the address of any email provider), enter the current password of your Google account in the appropriate text field and click on the button Remove Gmail to complete the operation.

Close Google account

Besides close Gmail account do you want to get rid of your Google account completely? Think carefully. Performing such an operation means losing all the appointments saved in Google Calendar, YouTube videos and preferences, files saved on Google Drive, the ability to synchronize data from Android smartphones and tablets online.

Are you convinced of your choice? Well then to complete the operation go to Google. com or google.itclick on yours photo at the top right and select the item Personal account from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, click on the link Delete your account or your services which is in the box Account preferences and go up Delete Google account and data. At this point, log back into your Google account, press the button I accept and complete the process of deleting your account by placing the check mark next to the items Yes, I acknowledge that I am still responsible for all charges arising from any pending financial transactions and I understand that in certain circumstances my earnings will not be paid And Yes, I would like to permanently delete my Google account and all related data. (at the bottom of the page) and clicking on the button Delete account.

Delete Google account from Android

If you don’t want to close your Gmail account but just want to dissociate it from your Android smartphone or tablet, proceed as follows: go to settings of your device, presses on the voice Account and select the icon Google.

Then choose the Google account to unlink from Android, press the button Menu located at the top right (the icon with the three dots) and select the item Remove account from the box that appears. More information on the procedure can be found in my tutorial on how to delete Google Android account.