Skip to content

How to close Facebook account

Rate this post

How to close Facebook account: Facebook has become a fundamental communication channel for many people, for companies it is practically essential, but no one is obliged to stay there unwillingly. If you feel that the world of social networks is not for you, do not create too many problems: connect to Facebook for the last time and close your account, it’s very easy.

All you have to do is visit the Facebook help center via the official social network website or application, select the option to delete your profile and follow the on-screen instructions.

If you care, before leaving the service you can also download a backup copy of all your posts, photos and messages that you have exchanged with friends. Don’t wait any longer, read my guide on how to close Facebook account and put it into practice.

Let’s start with the backup. If before saying goodbye to Facebook you want to download a backup copy of your data, connected to the social network home page, click on the arrow located in the blue bar, top right, and select the item Settings from the menu that appears.

On the page that opens, click on the item Download a copy of your Facebook data and presses the button Start my archive twice in a row to start preparing your backup.

The procedure, depending on the amount of data to be processed, could last several hours or several days: the amount of time in which you will have to remain subscribed to the social network. At the end of the processing you will receive an email from Facebook with the link to download all your data.

Once you have saved photos, messages and whatnot, take a deep breath and close Facebook account. As? I’ll explain it to you right away. Connected to the main page of the social network, click on arrow which is located at the top right and calls the Service center from the box that appears.

Now, type in the term to delete in the search bar displayed at the top right and click on the item first How do I delete my account permanently? present in the search results and then on the link tell us, in the text that appears next. If you can’t find the right link, try click here and you should go straight to the page to delete your profile.

At this point, press the button Delete my account, type the password of your account, copy the verification code in the appropriate text field and click on the button OK to complete the operation.

Your account will be deactivated for 14 days, after which it will be completely deleted and the data associated with it will be removed from the Facebook servers within a few months. During the 14 days of “limbo” you can retrace your steps and reactivate your profile simply by connecting to Facebook, logging in with your account and clicking on the button Undo delete. You will find all your data in their place.

How to close Facebook account

If you use Facebook mainly from a smartphone or tablet, you can also delete your account from there. All you have to do is start the social network app, press the button menu (the icon with the three horizontal lines) and select the item Service center from the menu that appears.

Next, select the magnifying glass, type the term to delete in the search bar and first presses on the item How do I delete my account permanently? and then on tell us.

Finally, type the password of your Facebook account in the screen that opens and press the button Send to complete the operation. Again, you will have 14 days to go back to your steps and reactivate your account.

How to close Facebook account

If you want to deactivate your account temporarily without it being permanently deleted after 14 days (and preventing other users from finding you on the social network), connected to Facebook, click on the arrow at the top right and select the item Settings from the menu that opens. Then select the item Options from the left sidebar and first click on Deactivate your account and then on Deactivate.

From smartphones and tablets, however, you have to press the button menu (the icon with the three horizontal lines), select the items Settings> General from the screen that opens and press the button Account.

To reactivate your account, both from PC and mobile devices, just log in to Facebook again. You will find post, forum, “I like” and the rest of the data as you left them.