Skip to content

How to clear Skype history

Rate this post

How to clear Skype history: As a tech enthusiast you are, you love to spend hours and hours chatting with your friends on Skype, the very famous service for calling and chatting on the Internet with people from all over the world. Too bad, though, that your nosy colleagues are always around the corner, ready to spy on your conversations. How about spoil the holidays clearing Skype history? Yes, it can be done, and it is also very simple, indeed it is so easy that you will be amazed not to have succeeded alone!

Courage, do not waste any more time: in the guide you are about to read, in fact, I will explain to you in detail how to clear skype history from your devices. Whether you want to work from a PC – using the Skype client for Windows and macOS or from the Web version of the service – or from a smartphone or tablet, at the end of this reading you will know exactly how to move: this is not very safe!

So, are you ready to get started? Yup? Very well! All you have to do is make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading this guide and, more importantly, implement the “tips” that I will give you to be able to clear the Skype history. There is nothing left for me to do but wish you happy reading!

How to clear Skype history from computer

If you wish clear the Skype history acting from computerknow that you can do it both using the official client of the service and its Web version. You can find everything explained below.

Skype for Windows and macOS

To proceed with the deletion of your conversations from official Skype client for Windows and macOSstart the latter and Log in to your account. Once logged in, locate the conversation you intend to delete, right click on it, select the item Delete conversation and confirm the operation by pressing the button Delete.

As you probably already know, if you use the Skype client on your computer, your conversation history is saved to your local drive for a certain amount of time. At the time of this writing, there is no option on the Skype client for Windows and macOS that allows you to change this setting (although it was possible to do so in the past). To permanently delete all the conversations saved in the computer cache, you must therefore act differently, by going to the folder where the copies of the chats are saved and deleting them from there.

To proceed on Windowsclose Skype (if it is open), open theFile Explorer Windows (the yellow folder icon located at the bottom left of the taskbar), paste the path C: Users [Nome Utente] AppData Roaming Skype In the text field located in the upper left (instead of [Nome Utente] you must enter the username with which you log in to Windows) and give Enter on the keyboard. Then delete the folder in question by dragging it to the Trash can.

In the past it was possible to delete all Skype conversations in one go, choose the time period within which the conversations were to be automatically deleted from the computer and it was even possible to make sure that the history was not tracked at all. Unfortunately, following an update released in 2018, this is no longer possible.

Skype Web

You do not have the possibility to access your Skype account from its official client, because it is not yet installed on the computer you are working on? Don’t worry: if you want, you can proceed directly from browser using the web version of Skypewhose interface resumes in all respects that of the client for Windows and macOS (which you can still download when you want).

To proceed, connect to Skype Web login pagelog in to your account by entering your credentials in the appropriate text fields and press the button Log in. Once logged in, locate the conversation you want to delete, right-click on it and then click on the item Delete conversation from the menu that opens.

To confirm the operation, all you have to do is reply Delete to the question Delete conversation? And that’s it. Did you see that it was not complicated at all to delete conversations from Skype by acting on its web version?

How to clear Skype history from smartphones and tablets

Now is the time to see how to clear Skype conversation history by acting from smartphone or from Tablet, an operation that in some ways is even simpler and more intuitive than what we have seen in the previous lines for PC. All you have to do, in fact, is to identify the conversation to be deleted and delete it using the appropriate option that appears on the screen.

Android

To proceed with clearing the Skype history from a device Androidfirst start theofficial app of the service pressing the icon with the Blue “S” on a white background found in the Home screen or in application drawer (the screen with all the apps installed on the device) and log in to your Skype account.

After logging in, go to the tab Chat, locate the conversation you want to delete from the history and make a long tap on it. Finally, select the item Delete conversation from the menu that opens and confirms the operation by answering Delete to the question Delete Skype chat. Do you want to delete this chat?. Easier than that ?!

iOS

To proceed with clearing the Skype history from a iPhone or from a iPad, you have to follow more or less the same steps that I indicated in the previous paragraph dedicated to Android. Also in this case, in fact, you have to start theofficial Skype app on your device and then log in to your account.

Once logged in, go to the form Chat (pressing the icon of speech bubble located at the bottom left), locate the conversation you want to delete from the chat history and make a long tap on its preview. Then select the item Delete conversation from the menu that opens, confirm the operation by replying Delete to the question Do you want to delete this chat? And that’s it.