Skip to content

How to clear searches on Messenger

Rate this post

Whether you like it or not, your smartphone often ends up in the hands of your nosy friends who, as soon as they have the opportunity, open Messenger to spy on conversations you have with your contacts. You are used to this by now, to the point that you often delete messages that you do not want others to see, but there are some things that you have not yet been able to delete and that you would really like to hide from the gaze of your nosy friends, for example. searches made in the app.

By tapping on the search bar in Messenger, anyone can view the list of names you have searched for (and selected) recently, and this thing bothers you quite a bit. Well, luckily you’ve come to the right place at the right time! With today’s guide, in fact, I’ll tell you how to clear searches on Messenger explaining how to proceed both from smartphones and tablets and from PCs. The operation is not the most comfortable to perform (as there is no command that allows you to execute it directly), but you won’t have to do anything complicated, I promise.

To find out all the details of the case and, above all, to prevent your nosy friends from viewing the latest searches you have made on Messenger, read on and put into practice the instructions you find below: regardless of the device and operating system you use, I assure you that you will quickly succeed in your intent. Happy reading and good luck for everything!

Delete searches on Messenger from Android

You want to know how to clear searches on Messenger and use a terminal Android? No problem, there are even two ways you can follow: the first is to delete the app data through the operating system settings; the second in ending the Messenger session from the Facebook settings. Here is in detail how to act in both cases.

If you want to delete searches on Messenger by deleting the app data, go to the menu Settings of Android (thegear icon located on the home screen or in the screen with the list of all the apps installed on the device) and select the item App from the screen that opens.

At this point, select Messenger from the list of applications installed on the device, tap on the item Memory, presses the button Clear data and confirm by answering Delete notice that appears on the screen.

Erase Android Messenger Data

If you prefer to act the other way, then by closing the Messenger sessions active on your smartphone (or tablet), start the official app of Facebook for Android (Facebook, not Messenger, be careful!), press thehamburger icon located at the top right and select the item Settings and privacy from the end of the screen that appears.

At this point, tap on the item Settings go up Security and access and presses the button Other… which is at the bottom of the box Devices you signed in from. Now all you have to do is identify the sessions related to Messenger and yours device, press the button with i three dots located in correspondence with the latter and select the item Go out from the menu that opens. Once you have closed all the Messenger sessions linked to your Android device, you should see (at the top) a notification that you have disconnected from the service.

Messenger access

Now, regardless of the procedure you followed, start Messenger and, if everything went well, the app will tell you that your session has expired. Press the button OK, log in to the service again (by typing your Facebook account credentials or by pressing the button Continue as [tuo nome]) and choose if send messages to your telephone contacts synchronizing the address book with Messenger and if send and receive SMS on Messenger using the latter as the default SMS management app.

After these steps, you should see the main Messenger screen and, by pressing on search bar at the top, you should notice that your search history has disappeared (it will repopulate when you search for new users within the app). Chat, contacts and other settings, on the other hand, will all be where you left them.

Delete searches on Messenger from iOS

How to clear searches on Messenger for iOS

If you use a terminal iOS, then a iPhone or a iPad, you can delete searches on Messenger by going to the Facebook access management panel and ending the current Messenger sessions on iPhone: by doing so, you will be forcibly disconnected from your account and all temporary application data, including searches carried out internally, will be canceled.

To proceed, launch the official app of Facebook (not Messenger, Facebook), presses onhamburger icon located at the bottom right and scroll up and down the page that opens. At this point, press on the voice Settings and privacy, go up Settings, then on Security and access and, in the screen that opens, select the item Other located at the bottom of the box Where are you logged in.

You will find yourself in front of the list of all accesses to Facebook and Messenger that you have opened on your devices. Therefore, identify all the items relating to iPhone and Messenger and remove them: if you don’t know how to do it, just press the button with i three dots placed in front of the session to be closed and select the item Go out from the menu that appears on the screen.

How to clear searches on Messenger for iOS

Now, launch the Messenger and, if everything went well, a message will appear on the screen that the session has expired and that you have to log in to your account again: if this is not the case, go back to the Facebook app and check the access list better, because most likely you have left some access to Messenger active on the iPhone.

When the message relating to the expired session appears, tap on OK, log in to Messenger again by entering your Facebook account credentials (or by simply pressing the button Continue as [tuo nome] and choose whether or not to invite your friends on Messenger by sending them a message (personally I recommend that you decline the invitation).

Messenger

At this point, press on search bar located at the top and you should notice that, in the next screen, there is no search suggestion: a sign that the procedure was successful.

Delete searches on Messenger from PC

How to delete searches on Messenger from PC

As you surely already know, Messenger is accessible from PC via the Facebook Chat box (the one located on the right on the main page of the social network) and through the dedicated site Messenger.com. In neither case, however, is there a search history like the one in the Messenger app for Android and iOS.

The only chronology available on Facebook for computers is that relating to searches carried out within the social network, therefore to searches for people, pages, events, etc. which were carried out using the appropriate bar located at the top left.

If you want to delete one of the names that automatically appear on Facebook when you click on search bar located at the top left, proceed as follows: click on bar in question and select the item Edit located at the top of the menu with the search history (which appears automatically at the bottom).

On the page that opens, locate the name you want to delete from the search history (eg. You searched for ), Click on prohibition sign located in front of the latter, select the item Delete from the menu that opens and confirm by pressing the button Remove search which appears in the center of the screen. Now repeat the operation for all the names (or even the pages, events, etc.) that you want to delete from the Facebook search history and that’s it.

If you want to act as a smartphone and tablet, in order to delete the search history in the Facebook application (therefore not in Messenger, but in the social network app), proceed as follows: start theFacebook app on your device, presses on search bar placed at the top and tap on the item Edit present at the top right of the screen that appears on the screen.

On the page that opens, locate the name you want to delete from the Facebook history, press on x which is in correspondence with it and confirm by pressing the button Remove that appears on the screen.

Clear Facebook history

Repeat the operation for all the names, or even the pages, events etc. you want to delete from the Facebook app history and that’s it. It wasn’t difficult, was it?

If any of the steps are not clear to you, take a look at my tutorial on how to clear Facebook history, in which I explained in detail how to clear the Facebook search history both from your computer and from smartphones and tablets.