Skip to content

How to block the wall on Facebook

Rate this post

You have been somehow “forced” to accept the friendship of some people on Facebook but you don’t want them to have access to the contents published in your personal diary? Don’t want your friends’ friends to see your status updates? There is nothing to worry about, you can achieve this in a very simple way.

Probably no one has ever told you this before, but among the Facebook privacy settings there is one that allows you to selectively choose who to display your wall and who not. Believe it or not, in a few simple steps you will be perfectly able to decide who to view your status updates and who not. So here is a guide on how to block the wall on Facebook (or rather, the visualization of the posts published in the diary) in an easy and fast way.

Since I already hear you “pawing”, let’s ban the chatter and get straight to the point. Courage: make yourself comfortable, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, carefully and scrupulously follow the instructions I am about to give you. If you do, you will not have the slightest problem in completing your “business”. I wish you happy reading and I wish you a big good luck for everything!

Block the Facebook wall from smartphones and tablets

By default, the posts shared on your Facebook diary are visible to friends you have accepted directly among your contacts and also to friends of the latter (therefore also to potentially unknown people). If you want to prevent your friends’ friends from seeing what you post on your Facebook diary, you need to change your Facebook privacy settings. Let me tell you how to proceed from smartphone and tablet.

First, launch the official Facebook app on your device Android, iOS or Windows 10 Mobile, log in to your account (if necessary), tap on the text field What are you thinking about?, press the button (▾) which is placed immediately after your name (so as to open the first drop-down menu) and select the privacy setting you prefer: Friends, whether to show your posts only to those who are in your Facebook contact list; Friends except … if you want to show the posts to all your Facebook friends except a few selected users; Specific friends, if you want to make posts visible only to specific people or Only me, if you want no one, apart from you, to be able to view the posts published in the diary.

Finally, publish the post you created and whose privacy settings you changed by pressing the appropriate publish / share button and that’s it. All the posts you publish from this moment on will automatically have the privacy setting you have chosen just now.

In case you want to limit the display of posts published in the past, instead, tap the button (≡), presses on the voices Settings and Privacy> Settings> Privacy Settings> Limit who can see old posts, presses on the option Limit past posts and confirm the operation by tapping the button Limit past posts.

I remind you that, using the function that allows you to limit the posts published in the past in your diary, the contents for which you have used the “Friends of friends” and “All” privacy settings, will be shared with the “Friends” setting ”And, therefore, the people tagged in those posts and their friends may also be able to see them (at least potentially). If you intend to cancel the operation in question, then, you will need to change the audience view for each post. OK?

Block the Facebook wall from your computer

If you want block the wall on Facebook acting from computer, you have to follow more or less the same steps I gave you in previous chapter: after connecting to your Facebook account, you need to go to the privacy settings page of the social network and change your preferences for viewing the posts published in the diary. Let me explain in detail how to proceed.

To begin with, log into your Facebook account (if you haven’t already), connecting to the main page of the social network (or using its official app for Windows 10). Then he presses the button (▾) present at the top right (on the blue Facebook bar) and select the item Settings from the menu that opens.

On the page that is proposed to you, click on the item Privacy placed in the sidebar which is located on the left and, in the box Privacy settings and tools that appears on the screen, select the privacy settings related to the display of your posts published in the diary.

Specifically, click on the link Edit located in correspondence with the wording Who can see your future posts? and select one of the privacy options from those available: Friends, if you want to show your posts only to your Facebook friends; Friends except … if you want to show the posts to all your Facebook friends except a few selected users; Specific friends, if you want to make posts visible only to specific users or Only me, if you want no one to see your posts.

If you want, you can also limit the display of posts published in the past in the diary. To do this, you need to click on the link Limit past posts located within the section Your activities and confirm the operation by pressing the blue button Limit past posts.

Please note that, by using the function that allows you to limit posts published in the past, the contents for which you have used the “Friends of friends” and “All” privacy settings will be shared with the “Friends” setting and, therefore, people tagged in these posts and their friends may also be able to view them. To cancel the operation in question, therefore, it would be necessary to change the view of the public for each post. Understood?

Block posts on Facebook wall from smartphones and tablets

You came to this guide with the aim of block posts on Facebook wall? In this case, know that it is possible to do this, but only on public pages and not on personal profiles. If you run a Facebook page and want to know how to pin a post from smartphone and tablet, know that you can act fromofficial Facebook app (available for Android, iOS like this: log into your Facebook account (if necessary), press the button (≡), tap on page name in which there is the post you want to fix at the top, identify it and press on the symbol (…) placed at the top right of the same. Finally, in the menu that opens, select the item Fixed at the top And that’s it.

Block posts on Facebook wall from computer

If desired, it is possible to block a post on the wall of a Facebook page by also acting as computer. To do this, log into Facebook on his login page (or from its app for Windows 10), presses the button (▾) at the top right and, in the menu that opens, click on page name of your interest.

Then locate the post you want to fix at the top, press the symbol (…) located at the top right of the same and, to conclude, click on the item Fixed at the top of the page. By doing so, the post in question will be posted at the top.