Skip to content

How to block someone on Facebook

Rate this post

How to block someone on Facebook: Now stop! Although you have asked him not to do it again at least thirty times, one of your pseudo-friends on Facebook continue to haunt your diary with phrases and links that are definitely out of place. Not to mention the annoying messages he sends you in private!

Now the only solution that remains is to block him from your friends list, so that he can no longer write in your diary and that he can no longer interact with your account in any way. How do you say? It’s impossible? You obviously haven’t looked at your account settings page well, because block a person on Facebook you can and it’s as easy as drinking a glass of water.

If you don’t believe it, take two minutes of free time and try it yourself: below you will find all the information you need to act both from your smartphone and from your computer, with the instructions to go back if you have second thoughts and decide to unlock the contact you previously blocked (another operation that requires very few taps or very few clicks, depending on the device you choose to use).

Block a person on Facebook from smartphones and tablets

If you want block a person on Facebook using a smartphone or tablet, start the official app of the well-known social network and view the profile of the user you want to block. If you don’t know how to do it, tap on search bar placed at the top, look for the name of the person to block, press the icon of magnifying glass and select the profile of your interest from the search results.

At this point, press the button (…) placed under the profile photo of the person to block, select the item Block from the menu that appears and confirm by replying Block notice that appears on the screen.

Mission accomplished! From now on, the person you blocked will no longer be able to see what you post in your diary, will not be able to tag you, will not be able to invite you to groups or events, will not be able to chat with you and will not be able to add you to friends again (after blocking, in fact, you will no longer be friends).

If you are wondering, Facebook will not send notifications to the person you have blocked, but this could easily realize that you have blocked them for all the reasons listed above (the inability to chat with you, to see your content and so on).

In case of second thoughts, you can unblock a user previously blocked on Facebook by starting the official app of the social network, by pressing the button and selecting the item Account settings (Android) or rumors Settings> Account Settings (iOS) from the screen that opens.

At this point, go on Block, locate the name of the person to unblock, tap the button Unlock placed next to it and answer Unlock notice that appears on the screen.

How to unblock someone on Facebook

Finally, if you want to add the person you have unblocked to your friends again, go to his profile, press the button add to friends and wait for this to accept your request.

If the “Add to Friends” button isn’t available, send a message to the user and ask them to be added to friends.

Block a person on Facebook from a PC

If you prefer to act as a PC, the first step you need to take to block a person on Facebook is to connect to the site with your account and visit the profile of the user to be blocked. If you don’t know how, click on search bar which is located at the top, search for the name of the user of your interest and give Enter.

At this point, select the profile of the person to be blocked from the search results, click on the button […] located on the cover image, select the item Block from the menu that opens and confirm by replying Block notice that appears on the screen.

How to block a person on Facebook from a PC

The game is done! Now the person you blocked will no longer be in your Facebook friends list, will no longer be able to see the content you post in your diary and will no longer be able to interact with you by sending you private messages or inviting you to groups or pages.

In case you change your mind, know that you can unblock people blocked on Facebook by going to the menu Settings of the social network and selecting the item Block from the left sidebar. If you do not know how to access the Facebook “Settings” menu, click on the arrow ▼ located at the top right (in the blue bar of the social network) and select the appropriate item from the box that appears.

On the page that opens, after selecting the item Block from the left sidebar, move to the pane Block these users, find the name of the person to unblock and click on the item Unlock placed next to the latter. For the changes to take effect, please reply Confirmation notice that appears on the screen.

How to unblock someone on Facebook

From the same page and the same box (Block these users) you can also block one or more people on Facebook by typing their name or email address, clicking on the button Block and selecting their profile from the list that appears.

Alternative solutions to blocking a person on Facebook

Is there a user who bothers you a lot on Facebook but would like to avoid blocking them permanently? Maybe I have some “softer” solutions that might be right for you.

News blocking in the feed

How to block someone's news on Facebook

If you are tired of viewing the posts of a user in the Facebook feed, i.e. on the main page of the social network, connected to the latter’s profile, press the button Follow already and select the item Don’t follow anymore from the menu that opens: by doing so, you will not interrupt the friendship with the person in question (so this person will be able to view your posts and interact with you), but you will no longer see their contents in the news feed of the social network.

The procedure can be followed both from a computer and from a smartphone and tablet (the steps to be taken are the same on all platforms). In case of second thoughts, you can go back to viewing a person’s news simply by visiting their profile and pressing the button follow present in the latter.

Alternatively, if you want to view the list of all users you have blocked in the Facebook news feed and / or want to unblock the latter, click on the arrow ▼ located at the top right (in the blue bar of the social network) and select the voice News section preferences from the box that appears. Next, click on the entry Reconnect with people you no longer follow, select the photo of the people you want to start following again and confirm by pressing the button end (bottom right).

How to block someone on Facebook

If you prefer to act mobile, start the official Facebook app, tap the button and select the items News section preferences> Reconnect with people you no longer follow if you use an Android terminal or voices Settings> News Preferences> Reconnect with people you no longer follow if you use an iOS terminal. Then proceed by selecting the names of the people you want to return to follow in the Facebook feed and that’s it.

Block on Messenger

How to block a person on Messenger

There is a person who annoys you by bombarding you with messages about Messenger? In this case you can block it on the Facebook messaging service without preventing it from viewing your content or interacting with you on the social network pages.

To block a person on Messenger without blocking them on Facebook, open the official application of Messenger on your smartphone or tablet, select the name of the latter and tap the button (the) located at the top right (if you use Android) or on the user’s name located at the top (if you are using iOS). Now, scroll down and at the bottom of the screen that opens, select the option Block and activate the lever for the function Block messages.

If you prefer to act as a PC, connect to the site messenger.com, log in with your Facebook account, select the name of the user you want to block and first click on thegear located in the right sidebar and then on the item Block messages present in the box that opens. If you don’t see the sidebar with the gear icon, press the button (the) located at the top right.

Mission accomplished! Now you have blocked the person who was bothering you on Messenger and therefore they will no longer be able to send you messages or call you. In case of second thoughts, to unblock a previously blocked user, go back to the Messenger menu (as I explained to you before) and disable the blocking function from there. More details on the subject can be found in my guide on how to block a person on Messenger.