Skip to content

How to block friend requests on Facebook

Rate this post

How to block friend requests on Facebook: You received a friend request on Facebook from someone you don’t know? Do you often receive requests of this type and would you like to put an end to this situation once and for all? Don’t worry, there is a solution to your problem and it is also at hand. What is it about? Don’t worry, I’ll explain it to you briefly in the next few lines.

In fact, in today’s guide, I’ll show you how to block friend requests on Facebook by users you do not know and those with whom you do not want to forge any connection in the most famous social network in the world. I will explain how to block the request of a single person or how to prevent anyone from making similar requests, both from smartphones and tablets and from computers (where you can act via browser or through the Facebook application for Windows 10). Also, in case you want to send a friend request yourself and are wondering how not to get blocked, I will provide you with some useful tips to approach you in the best way with a user on Facebook and therefore reach your goal.

Courage: it will only take you a few minutes of your time to read the advice I have prepared for you in this guide and put it into practice. All you have to do is sit comfortably and carefully read the procedures and tips you will find in the next chapters. There is nothing left for me to do but wish you a good read!

How to block a friend request on Facebook

If there is a Facebook user you don’t know who has sent you a friend request, you can decide to block it, so as not to be bothered anymore.

The first step you need to take is to press onicon with the two men, in order to access the section Friends of the social network (the one that contains the friend requests received, sent and suggested): on the web version of Facebook and inapplication for Windows 10 of the social network, the icon in question is located in the upper right area. On Android is available in the bottom bar, while on iOS, is found in the section above, or by selecting the item Friends among the options that appear by pressing the ☰ icon.

In the section Friends, you will be able to identify the friend request received and you can decide whether to accept or reject it. In the latter case, you can act by pressing the key Delete the request: by doing so, the user in question will no longer be able to send you a friend request for a period of time, which usually equals about one year.

Also, after canceling the friend request, you may also be shown another button, called Mark as spam: this function, if activated, allows you to permanently block any possibility for the user to be able to send you future friend requests. In short, a real black list.

Before proceeding, however, you could check if you actually know the person who sent you the friend request, checking the place where they live, their photos and, in general, their public information, by accessing their profile by clicking on their first name. In this case, next to his or her Facebook name, you will be offered the option to confirm or cancel the friend request. If your intent is to block it, you just have to press the button Delete, to reject it.

I told you about this topic in detail in my guide on how to deny friendship on Facebook, in which I explained in detail the procedures to follow on the different platforms on which this well-known social network is available.

As an alternative to the procedure I have indicated to you, if you want to be sure to block a friend request from a user you do not know, you can also think of preventing him from finding you on Facebook. This operation is possible using the function Block, which prevents a user from being able to contact you (via messages, calls and video calls), from finding your Facebook profile and from viewing any content you post.

For block a person on Facebook, you simply have to log into his profile and press the button (…) named Other. In the box that is shown to you, choose the option Block and, in the screen that is shown to you, confirm the operation using the appropriate button.

Also in this case, you can learn more by consulting my guide on how to block a person on Facebook, in which I told you in detail about how to perform this operation both on PCs and on smartphones and tablets.

How to block friend requests on Facebook

If you are constantly receiving friend requests and want to put a stop to this situation, you can try to block all those that come from unknown people. As? Thanks to Facebook’s privacy settings, which allow you to limit the sending of friend requests to people you potentially may not know.

Let’s see in detail how to perform this operation. First of all, if you work from a smartphone or tablet, tap on the ☰ icon located at the top right and, in the screen that is shown to you, select the items Settings and privacy > Settings > Privacy Settings. At this point, scroll through the list of options until you find the section How people find and contact you.

Now, what you have to do is press on the wording Who can send you friend requests and choose the option Friends of friends: By doing this, only people on your friends’ contact list will be able to send you friend requests.

If, on the other hand, you act as web browser from PC, click on the ▼ icon located at the top right and click on the item Settings, in the box that is shown to you. In the sidebar, then select the item Privacy and click on the wording Who can send you friend requests. Now, via the drop-down menu, select the option Friends of friends to immediately apply the setting for who can send you the friendship on Facebook.

Use theFacebook application for Windows 10? Also in this case, the operation to be performed is simple, as I explained to you in the previous lines. First, click on the ▼ icon, located at the top right and then on the wording Settings, in the box you see. Next, tap on the items Privacy Settings > Who can send you friend requests and select the option Friends of friends.

How not to be blocked from friend requests on Facebook

If you are afraid that a person to whom you want to send a friend request may block you, do not despair because in the next few lines I will give you some tips to prevent this from happening.

First, avoid sending your Facebook friendship to people you don’t know. These, rightly, could refuse your request, as personal moments are often shared on their wall that they want to share with a small circle of friends. In this case, you can think instead of “following” the user, using the button follow (if the user has enabled it on their profile): I told you about this function in the guide on how to follow someone on Facebook.

In general, before sending a friend request, in the event that you should know the user to whom you are sending it, try to contact him via private message, in order to be sure that he can recognize you and, therefore, accept the your request. The button Message will be available right next to the one named add to friends, in the user’s profile.

If the person to whom you sent the friend request were to refuse it, as I explained to you in this chapter, you could run into the temporary block, not being able to request friendship from the same person anymore. But be careful: if your friend request is marked as spam, you will no longer be able to send it to that user or, even, you will no longer be able to interact with him, if you are blocked.