Skip to content

How to be offline only to some friends on Facebook

Rate this post

How to be offline only to some friends on Facebook: It’s true, sometimes, even best friends can be obsessive and petulant. And you know something about it, right? Now, every time you log into Facebook, there is a friend of yours who writes to you in chat and keeps you at least two hours to tell you about his many travels. Not to mention that other friend of yours who, knowing your passion for technology, does nothing but contact you for advice on using your PC. The list of people who contact you via Facebook chat could go on and on with many other names. What to say? You really need a way to hide from them… and luckily there is!

Maybe you don’t know, but it is possible to act from the Facebook chat settings and indicate a series of names for which you want to be offline. It is even possible to act differently and create a kind of “black list” of annoying friends. The creation of this list, and the insertion of the names in the Facebook chat, will ensure that they are offline. Obviously at the same time you can always be available for everyone else. Believe me, there’s no better way than following the directions I’m about to give you to say goodbye, once and for all, to excessive chat time wasting.

How do you say? You really want to know how to be offline only to some friends on Facebook? Very good! So I advise you to take a few minutes of free time to devote to carefully reading this tutorial of mine. However, keep in mind that to carry out what I will indicate you will have to act through the desktop version of the social network. At the time of writing, it is not in fact acting through Android or iOS mobile devices. Having said that, I would say that we can start; I wish you a good reading.

How to be offline on Facebook for everyone or just for some friends

If you want to start changing the options relating to the visibility of the Facebook chat, you can proceed by being completely offline on Facebook.

To carry out this procedure you must first log in to your social network account and, once logged in, you must click on the button Chat which you can see located at the bottom of Facebook.

This will open the Chat Facebook and that will show you the list of all contacts currently online on the platform. So if you want to completely disable Facebook chat and be offline for everyone, you have to click on the button symbol of a gear and then, from the drop-down menu you will see on the screen, click on the item Disable chat.

By pressing this button you will see a menu appear that will ask you to choose between different options related to deactivating the chat.

By placing a check mark on the item Disable chat for all contacts, you will be offline on Facebook for all the people in your contact and friends list. Instead, placing the check mark next to the item Disable chat for everyone except … you will be prompted to enter the names of the people for whom you do not want to deactivate the Facebook chat and therefore be online.

If you want to turn out instead offline for some Facebook friends only, you must put the check mark next to the item Disable chat for some contacts only. Again, you will be prompted to type in people’s names; You can then put them in this special chat filter, so that they are offline. To confirm these operations you will have to press the button OK.

Keep in mind that by deactivating the chat for all people or just for some Facebook friends you will still be able to receive their messages. In fact, when the chat is not active, the messages of all contacts end up in the inbox and you can read them later.

This operation that I have indicated to you is completely reversible. To reactivate the chat, press the button Activate chat which you can see in the Facebook chat box.

If, on the other hand, you wish to remove the persons previously indicated in the contacts section for which to be offline, you will have to proceed by activating the chat as already explained and then clicking on the button with the gear symbol.

From the drop-down menu that you will see on the screen, click on the item Advanced settings and, from the text field Disable chat for some contacts only, remove the names of the people: to do this, click on X.

How to be offline only to some friends on Facebook (alternative procedure)

If the people for whom you want to be offline on Facebook are numerous, I suggest you proceed with an alternative method that I will point out below.

The procedure that I recommend you to carry out requires the creation of a list within the social network. In this list you can quickly enter a list of names and then “feed” this list to the Facebook chat settings. In this way you will be offline on Facebook only for the friends on this list.

In this case, all you need to do to be offline on Facebook to some friends is to connect to your Facebook account and click on the entry List Friends, located on the left on the main screen of the social network.

Then click on the button + Create a list (top right) and, in the box Name of the list give the list a name (for example Hidden in chat). In the box Members instead you will have to type the names of the friends to be included in the list, searching for their names and clicking on their photos to select and import them into the list.

When done, click the button Create (located at the bottom right) to confirm the creation of the list of friends for which you want to be offline in the Facebook chat.

To be offline on Facebook, but only for the friends of this list, open the Facebook chat by clicking on the button Chat which is located at the bottom right of the main page of the social network. Then click the button with the symbol of a gear and then press on the item Disable Chat.

You will then be able to see on the screen the options screen I mentioned in the previous lines. At this point, if you want to be offline on Facebook for the people in the list you have created, you will need to check the item Disable chat only for some contacts … and, in the text field, you will have to type the name of the list you created. To confirm this operation you will then have to press the button OK.

If you later want to undo what you have done and appear online for everyone, you can do so. Open the Facebook chat again, click the button with the gear symbol, on Advanced settings and then remove by pressing on X, the name of the list from the text field Disable chat only for some contacts …

How to block or ignore some friends on Facebook

For some friends, being offline on Facebook hasn’t solved the fundamental problem, which is the sending of numerous messages by them?

If this is the case, and you want to try a more drastic workaround, you can proceed by blocking or ignoring some friends on Facebook.

In the first case, following the block, the person in question will no longer be able to contact you in the Facebook chat or on Messenger from Android and iOS. Clearly, by the time the block is active, not even you will be able to get in touch with that person in the Facebook chat.

The less drastic alternative is the ability to ignore a person’s messages on Facebook. This way you will not receive notifications when the ignored person sends messages in the Facebook chat. The conversation will still be visible in the section Facebook Message Requests (accessible by clicking the button with the symbol of a speech bubble from the Facebook top bar). The ignored person will not be aware that their messages have been moved to this section and therefore ignored.

In both cases mentioned, to implement these changes you will have to click on the button Chat to open the Facebook chat. From the chat screen you will then need to locate the name of the person to block or ignore and click on their name to open the individual chat.

In the chat with that person then click the button with the symbol of a gear; then choose whether to click on the item Ignore messages or up Block Messages. In the first case you will have to confirm the operation by pressing the button Ignore messages while in the second case press the button Block Messages to confirm your intentions.

Alternatively, you can individually disable chat with that person (and thus resulting offline) by clicking the button with the symbol of a gear and pressing the button Disable Chat.