Skip to content

How not to show that you are online on Instagram

Rate this post

How not to show that you are online on Instagram: Instagram is your favorite social network and you use it daily to post new content and follow the profiles of your interest. Recently, however, you have been annoyed by the fact that other people may know when you are online, as you would like to keep your business confidential and prevent other users from contacting you, seeing you active.

How do you say? This is exactly how things are and, for this reason, you wonder how not to show that you are online on Instagram? In this case, you will be happy to know that in the course of my guide I will provide you with all the information you need to succeed in this intent, through some features integrated in the well-known photographic social network, available on both smartphones and computers.

If, therefore, you are now impatient to learn more, I invite you to sit comfortably and take just a few minutes of free time, so that you can carefully read the procedures I am about to show you. You will see that if you follow my instructions to the letter you will easily and quickly succeed in the intent you have proposed. Let it bet?

Preliminary information

From the moment you wonder how not to show that you are online on InstagramI must first give you some preliminary information relating to the possibility in question.

To do this, you can disable the feature Status of activity of Instagram which, as a rule, allows the accounts you follow and all the people you send private messages on Instagram to see the time of your last activity on the social network.

You must know, however, that deactivating the activity status involves a mutual failure to display. Consequently, by deactivating this feature, you will not be able to know when other users of the social network will be online. Understood? Well, then let’s proceed.

How not to show when you are online on Instagram

If you want to hide your activity status on Instagram, follow the directions I am about to give you in the following lines. As already mentioned, you will be able to do this both from a smartphone, through the Instagram for Android (downloadable for free from Play Store or from alternative stores) or for iPhone (downloadable fromApp Store), and from a computer, through the official site of the photographic social network. Find everything explained below.

From smartphone

Instagram activity status

To deactivate the activity state via theInstagram app for smartphonesfirst start the latter by pressing on its icon located on the home screen and / or in the drawer of your device, then log in to your account.

Now, go to your profile screen and press the icon (≡) located in the upper right corner. Then, in the menu that is shown to you, tap on the items Privacy> Status of activity and finally move up OFF the lever located in correspondence with the wording Shows the status of activity. Easier than that?

Of course, if you change your mind, you can reactivate the activity status by bringing up ON the appropriate lever.

From computer

Instagram Web Activity Status

If you intend to proceed from computerconnected first to the Instagram official site via a web browser.

At this point, after logging into your account, press on thumbnail of your profile located in the upper right corner and, in the menu that is shown to you, click on the item Settings.

Now, tap on the item Privacy and security located in the side menu and, finally, remove the check mark next to the wording Shows the status of activityto disable this feature and prevent other people from seeing when you are online on Instagram.

If you change your mind, you can reactivate the activity status by placing the check mark on the option in question.

Other solutions to not show that you are online on Instagram

Restrict on Instagram

As an alternative to deactivating the Status of activity you can prevent a single user from knowing that you are online at Instagram limiting or blocking it, through the specific functions of the social network.

In the first case, you can use the tool of limitation to implement some restrictions concerning the interaction possibilities of the user involved in the procedure: in particular, you can prevent the latter from knowing your online status through private messages. Furthermore, the messages sent by him will be filtered in a special section of the private messages of Instagram where you can also read them without the sender knowing that you have viewed them.

The block of a user on Instagram, on the other hand, is a more restrictive feature, which prevents the blocked user from any possibility of interaction with the person who implemented the block. You can do these two solutions without worrying about the consequences, as they are completely reversible options.

To do this, open the Instagram or his official site and search for the user to limit or block, using the search engine of the photographic social network.

Once this is done, click on the icon (…) located in the upper right corner and, in the menu that is shown to you, press the button Limit your account. If instead of limiting the user you want to block him, press the item Blockalso located on this screen.

In case of second thoughts, to remove these restrictions, press the icon again (…) and, in the menu that is shown to you, click on the button Remove restrictions or Unlockdepending on the option previously selected.